Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus Review: Big Battery Backup for Homes, RVs, and Cabins
At a Glance
KEY FEATURES
- Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus: Large portable power station / solar generator for home backup, RVs, cabins, outages, and emergency power.
- Battery: 3,840Wh, LiFePO4 / LFP batteries, manufacturer claims 10+ year lifespan; exact cycle count not specified in provided data.
- AC output: 6,000W continuous, 10,200W starting wattage; pure sine output is implied by product positioning and generator language, but not explicitly confirmed in the provided specs.
- Ports: 15 total outlets claimed; includes 120V/240V output, NEMA L14-30, and NEMA TT-30P support; exact USB-C, USB-A, and DC port counts are not fully specified in the provided data.
- Recharge: Solar up to 3,200W; 240V gas generator support via 6,000W bypass; standard AC wall input and car charging wattage not specified.
- Smart features: Anker app with Wi-Fi / Bluetooth monitoring and remote control; pass-through / UPS-style use has real-world caveats depending on setup.
- Build: 135.58 lb, 27.64 × 15.55 × 15.28 in, black finish, wheeled heavy-duty design.
- Best for: Home outage prep, RV power, cabins, workshops, sheds, refrigerator backup, well pumps, and users replacing long gas-generator run time.
PROS
- 3,840Wh LFP base and 6,000W 120/240V system role.
- Plus generation strengthens extended-outage recovery options.
- Solar, expansion, home integration, RV, and EV roles remain broad.
- Wheels and app control support planned deployment.
CONS
- High purchase price expands further with batteries and integration hardware.
- Generator charging adds source-quality, cable, ventilation, and fuel planning.
- Base 3.84kWh still depletes quickly under sustained whole-home loads.
- Exact Plus compatibility must be checked for every accessory.
Editor's Choice
Based on exact documentation and qualitative exact-ASIN owner evidence; no hands-on test or population-rate claim
⚡ Can the Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus Run It?
Choose a common device and see the estimated runtime, whether the inverter can handle it, and how long the power station may take to recharge.
Picture the usual outage mess: the fridge is warming up, the well pump is dead, your router is off, and the gas generator outside is loud enough to annoy everyone. You don’t want a tiny camping battery here. You want a serious backup box that can take real loads.
The F3800 Plus is not a casual carry-to-the-picnic-table power station. From what owners describe, it’s better viewed as a rollable home, RV, trailer, cabin, or workshop battery — the kind you park in one place, wire thoughtfully, and rely on when smaller units would tap out fast.
The Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus should not be reviewed as an F3800 with a suffix. Its purchasing logic is the recovery architecture: how the system accepts solar, grid, and compatible generator energy during an extended outage, and how it integrates with home-backup accessories. The protected exact-model specification table retains the shared comparison fields; this body concentrates on whether the Plus features solve a real system problem.
The supplied exact-ASIN owner sample is smaller than the other 02B files, so conclusions are deliberately narrower. Accounts support home backup, high-load operation, solar, mobility on wheels, expansion, and generator-oriented use. They also surface charging, software, shipping, and support checks. No conclusion is expressed as a frequency or population rate. The smaller sample increases the value of exact documentation and a complete acceptance test.
| Compare before buying | Original F3800 may satisfy | F3800 Plus earns its premium when |
|---|---|---|
| Output role | 6kW 120/240V direct and integrated backup | The same core role needs the Plus recovery ecosystem |
| Outage length | Grid and solar are adequate recharge paths | A compatible generator is part of the written endurance plan |
| Installation | Existing F3800 accessories fit the site plan | The intended panel, charger, and cables are verified Plus-compatible |
| Budget | Lower total system cost matters more than new features | The avoided outage downtime justifies the complete Plus system price |
Generator charging is not merely “plug in a generator.” Confirm generator voltage and frequency stability, grounding behavior, cable and adapter ratings, continuous power, ventilation, fuel plan, and whether loads remain active while charging. Run the test outdoors with the generator placed safely away from occupied space; never operate combustion equipment indoors or in a garage. The battery can eliminate overnight generator noise, but it does not eliminate generator safety.
Capacity planning remains unchanged by the Plus label. A 3,840Wh base battery cannot sustain a multi-kilowatt average load for long. Build an essential-load schedule, reserve energy for nighttime and motor starts, and decide which daytime loads can wait until solar or generator recovery. Expansion is valuable only after the base load model is measured.
Evidence-led verdict: the F3800 Plus is the more defensible purchase when generator-assisted recovery is a real part of multi-day backup. If that feature will never be commissioned, compare the original F3800 and other split-voltage systems on total installed cost.
F3800 Plus: The Generator-Recovery Upgrade Is the Decision

If you want quiet, high-output backup power for an RV, cabin, shed, workshop, or essential home circuits, this power station works. It has enough inverter headroom for serious appliances, enough battery to matter during an outage, and enough solar input to make off-grid use realistic. That said, this Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus review has to be clear about the catch: it’s heavy, setup can get complicated, and some owners report that pass-through behavior is not as automatic as they expected. Whole-home essentials planning starts with our storm-prep home backup shortlist.
Pro Tip — Use DC or USB outputs for small electronics when possible. Running a giant AC inverter just to charge phones and tablets wastes more energy than most people expect.
The Plus Still Needs an Infrastructure-Scale Parking Place
The first thing buyers notice is the size. At about 136 lb, the Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus portable power station has a solid, industrial feel, but it is not something most people will casually lift into a trunk. The base F3800 model is compared side-by-side in our Anker F3800 and F3800 Plus comparison. The wheels and handle help, though several owners still recommend a hand truck for delivery day or setup.
In practice, this is more “rollable backup battery” than “portable camping power station.” You can move it around a garage, trailer, or cabin floor, but stairs, gravel, and lifting it into an RV bay are a different story. The solid heft feels reassuring once it’s parked, but returning a damaged or defective unit can be a real headache.
Customers also bring up packaging and shipping. Some units arrive safely and impressively well packed, while others show up with damaged packaging, broken wheels, or impact marks. Here’s what matters: inspect it immediately, especially around corners, wheels, and the battery housing.
Buyer Heads-Up — A 136 lb battery is not a normal doorstep package. Check for damage before you commit to keeping it, and take photos if the box looks rough.
Base Capacity Is Familiar; System Duration Is Configurable
The F3800 Plus starts with a 3,840Wh LiFePO4 battery. In plain English, that’s enough to run far more than phones and laptops. It can support fridges, routers, CPAP machines, lights, sump or well-related loads, and RV systems depending on how you connect it.
That said, usable energy is always lower than the nameplate number when you use AC outlets. With a modern inverter, a realistic estimate is about 85% efficiency, then you’ll want to leave a small reserve for battery health. In practice, you’re working with roughly 2,900Wh of usable AC energy.
| Device | Typical Power Draw | Estimated Runtime | Realistic with Margin |
|---|---|---|---|
| Smartphone charging | 10-15Wh per charge | 250+ charges | About 200-230 charges |
| Laptop charging | 50-80Wh per charge | 45-60 charges | About 35-45 charges |
| Wi-Fi router | 10-20W | 145-290 hours | About 120-200 hours |
| CPAP, no humidifier | 30-60W | 49-98 hours | About 40-75 hours |
| Mini fridge | 40-80W cycling | 36-73 hours | About 30-55 hours |
| Full-size refrigerator | 100-200W cycling | 14-29 hours | About 12-24 hours |
| Electric blanket | 50-80W | 36-58 hours | About 30-45 hours |
| Drone batteries | 60-100Wh each | 29-49 charges | About 24-38 charges |
| 1,500W kettle | 1,500W | About 2 hours continuous | Fine briefly, but wasteful |
Real-World Math — At 85% AC efficiency, the listed 3,840Wh delivers roughly 3,264Wh through the AC outlets. Subtract a 10% reserve, and you’re working with about 2,938Wh of practical AC energy.
Owners using it for cabins and trailers tend to be the happiest when they plan their loads. A fridge, microwave, coffee maker, lights, router, and small cooking appliance can all make sense. On the flip side, leaving the inverter on all day for tiny loads can waste power, and one owner specifically called out standby drain during outage use.
Six Kilowatts Across a Planned Load Order

Here’s the thing: output power is not the same as simple setup. The F3800 Plus can do 120V and 240V, but powering a home panel, well pump, dryer circuit, or RV system safely may require the right cable, transfer switch, inlet, adapter, or electrician.
| Device | Typical Draw | This Unit? |
|---|---|---|
| Phone / tablet | 10-25W | Easy |
| Laptop | 50-100W | Easy |
| LED lights | 5-15W each | Easy |
| Wi-Fi router | 10-20W | Easy |
| Mini fridge | 40-80W cycling | Easy |
| CPAP, no humidifier | 30-60W | Easy |
| Full-size fridge | 100-200W cycling, higher startup | Easy |
| Microwave, 700W class | About 1,100W draw | Easy |
| Electric kettle | About 1,500W | Easy, but drains fast |
| Coffee maker | 800-1,500W | Easy |
| Hot plate | 1,200-1,800W | Easy |
| Well pump | Startup surge varies | Strong fit if wired correctly |
| Window AC, 5,000 BTU | 500W run, higher startup | Easy to borderline |
Worth Knowing — Continuous output is the real ceiling. The 10,200W surge rating is for startup loads, not for running every high-draw appliance in your home at the same time.
In real use, the sweet spot tends to be essential circuits and high-priority appliances. Most people don’t need to power every room during an outage. They need the fridge cold, the well working, phones charged, internet alive, and maybe a microwave or coffee maker for short bursts.
Solar, Grid, and Generator Recovery as Separate Designs
Charging is one of the F3800 Plus’s stronger selling points. The product lists up to 3,200W of solar input, and owners using large solar arrays describe fast charging from dual high-wattage strings. Another cabin user liked the 240V generator charging setup because it reduced gas use dramatically.
The catch is that the provided specs do not clearly list normal AC wall input or car charging wattage. So, while the solar and generator story is strong, ordinary wall-charging details are less clear from the supplied product data. In practice, buyers planning a serious setup should map the charging method before buying.
| Charging Mode | Estimated Time 0-100% | Noise Level |
|---|---|---|
| 240V generator-supported charging | About 1-2 hours in some owner setups | Generator noise outside |
| 1,600W solar | About 2.5-3.5 hours strong sun | Silent |
| 3,200W solar max | About 1.5-2 hours strong sun | Silent |
Solar Charging — F3800 Plus Array Boundaries

Adapter Check — The provided data does not clearly confirm the solar connector type. If you plan to use third-party panels, confirm the adapter and voltage limits before buying cables.
A high solar input matters most for cabins, RVs, and multi-day outages. If you only charge from the wall before a storm, the battery is useful but limited to whatever you stored. With enough solar, the F3800 Plus becomes much more of a daily-use backup system.
The Plus Connection Map and Accessory Bill
Anker lists 15 total outlets, plus 120V/240V support, NEMA L14-30, and NEMA TT-30P connections. That puts the F3800 Plus in a different class from small power stations with a few household outlets and USB ports. RV owners especially like that it can feed larger trailer setups without needing two units just to reach 240V-style functionality.
At the same time, the exact USB-C, USB-A, DC, and AC outlet breakdown is not fully spelled out in the provided specs. Reviews mention front USB ports, and one owner recommends using those for small devices instead of wall chargers because AC adapters can waste more battery. That’s good advice on any large inverter station.
The outlet behavior also deserves a heads-up. Some owners say certain plugs shut off depending on how the unit is being charged, and one buyer described needing extra adapters to make their setup work. To be fair, that doesn’t mean the unit is weak. It means high-power backup systems need more planning than a small camping battery.
Charging Strategy Determines the Sound Profile
Customer feedback generally suggests the F3800 Plus is quiet under normal battery output. Cabin users especially like the contrast against a gas generator, where the difference is not subtle. A quiet hum inside beats an engine running outside all day.
That said, fan behavior will depend on load, charge rate, and room temperature. Heavy AC loads and fast charging usually create more heat, so expect the cooling system to speak up when you’re pushing the inverter. In a garage, shed, RV bay, or utility room, that’s probably fine. In a bedroom beside your bed, it is overkill anyway.
Commission the System Before Enabling Automation

Owners generally like the interface and app control. The Anker app supports Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, lets you monitor power sources remotely, and gives you control over how power is used. For a system this large, remote control is not just a nice extra — it saves trips to the garage, trailer bay, or utility corner.
On the flip side, advanced users may want more detail. One owner specifically wanted individual solar string data and outlet-level monitoring, and the app did not go that deep. So the app feels friendly for normal users, but limited for people building a more technical off-grid setup.
In practice, most buyers will find the controls easy enough. The bigger learning curve is not the screen. It’s deciding how to wire the unit, which outlets to use, when to charge, and how to avoid wasting battery through unnecessary inverter time.
A Large Expansion Stack Needs Records
The F3800 Plus uses LiFePO4, also called LFP, which is the right chemistry for this kind of product. LiFePO4 batteries are heavier than older lithium-ion packs, but they are usually preferred for long cycle life, thermal stability, and frequent charging. That trade-off makes sense in a 136 lb backup station that is already meant to live near a home panel, RV, or cabin.
For this Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus review, the safety conversation needs two parts. First, the chemistry and 5-year warranty are reassuring. Second, shipping damage should be taken seriously because a large battery with a crushed corner is not something to shrug off.
Long-Term Ownership — Anker claims a 10+ year lifespan for the F3800 Plus. Even with LiFePO4, storage habits still matter, especially if the unit sits unused between storm seasons.
Best Practice — For storage, leave the unit around 50-80% charge and top it off every 3-6 months. LiFePO4 is forgiving, but storing any battery at 0% or 100% for long stretches is not ideal.
Customer support gets mixed but mostly interesting feedback. Several owners say Anker handled shipping damage, defective units, and follow-up service well. Others felt support had slipped, especially when dealing with chatbot-style replies or install questions. Honestly, for a product this expensive and heavy, support quality matters almost as much as specs.
F3800 Plus Upgrade Decision Tree
| Use Case | Fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Weekend car camping | Borderline | Tons of power, but too heavy for casual camp movement |
| RV side-trip / van life | Strong fit | High output and RV-friendly connections make sense |
| Home blackouts under 8 hours | Strong fit | Plenty of power for essentials |
| Multi-day off-grid cabin | Strong fit | Big solar input and generator support help a lot |
| CPAP overnight backup | Strong fit | Far more capacity than needed for one night |
| Refrigerator backup | Strong fit | Output and surge headroom are excellent |
| Jobsite power tools | Solid fit | Strong inverter, but weight limits mobility |
| Quiet bedroom UPS | With caveats | Powerful and quiet, but huge and not ideal bedside |
| Hurricane / multi-day outage | Solid fit | Strong with solar or generator support |
| Tailgating / outdoor events | Borderline | Great power, awkward weight |
| Backpacking / lightweight EDC | Skip | Completely wrong weight class |
| Apartment without solar access | With caveats | Useful if you can store and recharge it safely |
You’ll probably be happy if you want:
- A high-output LiFePO4 power station for essential home circuits
- RV backup with serious outlet options
- A cabin battery that reduces gas-generator run time
- Strong solar input for longer off-grid use
- Expandability over time instead of buying the whole system upfront
You might want to skip it if you need:
- Something one person can carry easily
- A simple plug-and-play battery for a desk or tent
- Detailed outlet-level app monitoring
- A cheap cost-per-kWh setup for large battery expansion
- A home backup system you can install without planning cables, adapters, or an electrician
Pros & Cons Analysis
Based on documented specifications and owner feedback
Pros
- Recovery architecture is the meaningful upgrade — A compatible generator can recharge storage during weather or outages that make solar insufficient.
- Split-voltage output serves real household loads — The platform can support selected 240V equipment when the total installation is designed correctly.
- Expansion supports multi-day planning — Additional batteries can shift generator runtime toward shorter daytime recharge windows.
- Multiple roles share one platform — Home backup, RV, EV emergency charging, solar storage, and direct appliance power can coexist in a planned system.
- Local and app controls aid monitoring — The system can expose input, output, state of charge, and settings during commissioning and operation.
Cons
- The complete system is expensive — Station price alone omits transfer equipment, panels, expansion batteries, generator adapter, cable work, and possible installation.
- Generator integration is not automatic — Source stability, grounding, ventilation, fuel, continuous rating, and restoration behavior need separate proof.
- Small evidence sample limits broad conclusions — The supplied exact-ASIN owner set supports test priorities, not population reliability claims.
- Physical scale remains substantial — Movement, floor loading, ventilation, wheel route, restraint, and cable protection belong in the design.
- Software state affects unattended backup — Firmware, reserve, schedules, output persistence, and recovery should be recorded after every material update.
Should You Buy It?
This Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus review lands in a pretty clear place: it's a serious backup system for people who actually need serious output. Owners running cabins, RVs, sheds, trailers, refrigerators, well-related loads, and essential home circuits tend to see the value quickly. The quiet operation, 3,840Wh battery, 6,000W output, 240V capability, and 3,200W solar input make it far more capable than the average portable power station.
That said, don't buy it expecting a simple little camping battery. It's heavy, expensive to expand, and some setups need extra hardware or professional installation. If you want a rollable Anker 3,840Wh LiFePO4 power station that can replace a lot of generator run time, it makes sense. If you just need phone charging, a CPAP night, or laptop backup, this is far more battery than you need.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can the Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus run a full-size refrigerator?
Yes. Customers use it for refrigerator backup, and the 6,000W output with 10,200W starting wattage gives it plenty of room for fridge compressor surge. Runtime depends on the fridge size, cycling rate, room temperature, and whether other loads are running.
Can it power a whole house?
It can power selected household circuits when connected correctly, and owners report using it with transfer-switch setups for wells, fridges, microwaves, and other essentials. It is not a simple plug-and-play whole-house system unless your wiring and accessories are already planned.
Is the Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus good for RV use?
Yes, especially for larger RVs. Buyers like the high-power RV-friendly outlet options, including NEMA L14-30 and TT-30P support. Just remember that the unit is heavy enough that many RV owners will want to secure it in one place.
How heavy is the Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus?
It weighs about 135.58 lb. The wheels and handle help, but customers still describe it as very heavy. Plan on using a hand truck or treating it like a semi-permanent backup battery rather than something you carry often.
How fast can it recharge from solar?
The listed solar input is up to 3,200W. Under ideal sun, that is extremely fast for a 3,840Wh power station, but real solar charging depends on panel wattage, angle, shade, heat, wiring, and MPPT behavior.
Can it charge and power devices at the same time?
It depends on the setup. Some owners report using generator input while powering the house, while others say certain 240V inverter and generator charging combinations require manual switching. Do not assume every pass-through scenario works automatically.
Does the app give detailed solar and outlet data?
The app supports remote monitoring and control through Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, and many buyers like it. Advanced users may find it too basic because it may not show individual solar string data or outlet-level detail.
Is it quiet enough for indoor backup power?
Customer feedback generally points to quiet operation under normal backup use, especially compared with gas generators. Fan noise can still increase during high loads or fast charging.
What battery chemistry does it use?
The Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus uses LFP / LiFePO4 batteries. That chemistry is popular for home backup because it is known for long cycle life, thermal stability, and frequent-use durability.
What are the biggest complaints?
The biggest complaints are weight, shipping damage risk, complicated installation for home backup, limited pass-through behavior in some setups, and a few reports of defective or non-charging units.
Is it worth buying over a gas generator?
It makes sense if you want quiet indoor-safe backup power, solar charging, RV power, or reduced generator run time. A gas generator still makes sense if you need cheap continuous power for days and do not mind fuel, noise, fumes, and maintenance.
Technical Specifications
| Brand | Anker |
|---|---|
| Model / SKU | Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus / A1790P (ASIN: B0DTSSCHG6) |
| Battery capacity | 3840 Wh |
| Battery chemistry | LiFePO4 (LFP) |
| Cycle-life rating | Not published for this exact model in the current source set |
| Expandable capacity | Yes — supports up to 6 extra batteries with one unit for 26.9 kWh, or up to 12 extra batteries with two F3800 Plus units for 53 kWh |
| Continuous AC output | 6000 W continuous |
| Surge / peak output | 10200 W peak / starting wattage |
| AC voltage, frequency, and waveform | 120V/240V AC, pure sine wave; frequency not published for this exact model |
| AC outlets | 15 total outlets manufacturer-rated (includes NEMA L14-30 and NEMA TT-30P; exact AC outlet breakdown not fully specified) |
| High-current, RV, or 240V output | NEMA 14-50 and L14-30 outputs; 120V/240V support |
| USB-C outputs | Not published for this exact model in the current source set |
| USB-A outputs | Not published for this exact model in the current source set |
| 12V / DC outputs | Not published for this exact model in the current source set |
| Maximum solar input | 3200 W (solar input; connector details not specified) |
| Solar input range and connector | Not published for this exact model in the current source set; exact PV voltage/current window and connector are unavailable |
| Maximum AC input | Not published for this exact model in the current source set |
| AC recharge time | Not published for this exact model in the current source set |
| Solar recharge estimate | Planning estimate: approximately 1.5-2 hours with full 3200W solar in ideal sun (real-world time depends on panels, weather, angle, and losses) |
| UPS / EPS support and transfer time | Limited |
| App / connectivity | Yes — Anker app with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth |
| Operating temperature / weather rating | Discharge: -4–104°F (-20–40°C); charge: 32–104°F (0–40°C); not waterproof |
| Dimensions | 27.6 × 15.3 × 15.6 in (702 × 388 × 395 mm), including wheels |
| Weight | 135.58 lb (61.5 kg) |
| Warranty | 5-year manufacturer warranty |
