Solar Power Picks logo with sun, solar panel, and green energy icon

  • Home
  • Reviews
  • Best
    • Best portable power stations
    • Best Solar Panels
    • Best Solar Generators
    • Best Solar Charge Controllers
    • Best Solar Batteries
  • Guides
    • Portable Power Stations Guides
    • Solar Panels Guides
    • Solar Generators Guides
    • Solar Charge Controllers Guides
    • Solar Batteries Guides
  • Comparisons
    • Portable Power Stations Comparisons
    • Solar Panels Comparisons
    • Solar Generators Comparisons
    • Solar Charge Controllers Comparisons
    • Solar Batteries Comparisons
  • Calculator

Anker F3800 vs F3800 Plus: The Real Difference Before You Buy

COMPARED PRODUCTS

Anker SOLIX F3800 Review: Big 240V Backup Power Without the Generator Noise

Best Standard 240V Backup Pick

Anker SOLIX F3800 Review: Big 240V Backup Power Without the Generator Noise

Check price at Amazon Jump to details
Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus Review: Big Battery Backup for Homes, RVs, and Cabins

Best Upgraded 240V Backup Pick

Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus Review: Big Battery Backup for Homes, RVs, and Cabins

Check price at Amazon Jump to details

Anker F3800 vs F3800 Plus should be decided from a wiring diagram, not from the word “Plus.” Both start with 3,840Wh of LFP storage and 6,000W continuous 120/240V output. The Plus raises solar input from 2,400W to 3,200W, changes solar voltage/current windows, adds generator-oriented charging options and a TT-30R RV outlet, and changes the high-current receptacle mix. Those differences can be decisive—or irrelevant—depending on the panel, generator, RV, EV, and home circuits.

Original F3800Prefer it when its NEMA 14-50 path or lower system price matches the documented installation.F3800 PlusPrefer it for the revised solar/generator topology or TT-30R RV output after exact compatibility checks.

This is not an installation guide. A qualified electrician should confirm conductor size, overcurrent protection, grounding and bonding, transfer equipment, inlet configuration, neutral behavior, phase loading, and local code. The automatic product table at the end preserves the common 25-row comparison; the body focuses on system interfaces that can make an apparently stronger product incompatible with the intended job.

F3800 Integration Gate: Which Electrical Topology Are You Building?

Here’s the practical answer: buy the Anker SOLIX F3800 if you mostly want essential home backup, garage backup, or RV shore-style power. Buy the Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus if you’re building a larger solar, cabin, RV, or outage-prep system.

Plus Changes Inputs and Receptacles—not Base Energy

Interface Original F3800 F3800 Plus Decision consequence
Solar ceiling 2,400W 3,200W Plus can recover faster only with a compatible array.
RV output No TT-30R in Anker’s difference guide TT-30R present Plus can simplify a 120V RV connection.
High-current receptacle 14-50R plus L14-30R L14-30R; official guide says no 14-50R Never assume an adapter preserves the intended circuit.
Generator path More limited documented options Revised generator/HPP methods Verify generator voltage, power, connector, and firmware.

Product revisions and regional bundles can change supplied cables and accessories. Resolve the exact model and current Anker documentation before buying integration hardware.

The F3800 Plus does not radically change the core power station formula. You still get the same listed battery capacity and the same listed inverter output.

The upgrade is more about how the system can be used.

The Plus model gives you:

  • Higher solar input
  • More outlet flexibility
  • Better fit for RV and cabin setups
  • Larger two-unit expansion path
  • 240V generator support through a 6,000W bypass setup

The standard F3800 still makes sense because the core performance is already strong. If you don’t need the Plus model’s system-level upgrades, the cheaper standard unit may be easier to justify.

Route the Intended Circuit Before Choosing the Station

For most backup buyers, the decision is not about whether the Plus is “more powerful.” It’s about whether your setup benefits from the added solar, outlet, and expansion flexibility.

Both Begin With the Same 3,840Wh Energy Budget

Daily-energy gate

3,840Wh nominal storage is roughly a few hours—not a day—at multi-kilowatt demand. Expansion changes runtime, while the 6,000W inverter changes which loads can start and run.

Make a circuit schedule with average watts, startup watts, duty cycle, desired hours, and whether each load is 120V or 240V. Reserve energy for controls, pumps, refrigeration, and communications before discretionary heating or cooking.

Both models start with a 3,840Wh battery, so runtime is more similar than the product names suggest.

Using a practical AC estimate, the standard F3800 gives roughly 2,868Wh after inverter losses and a small reserve. The F3800 Plus lands around 2,938Wh using a slightly higher efficiency estimate. In real use, that difference is not huge.

What matters more is load size. A fridge cycling on and off is very different from a heater pulling 1,500W nonstop.

These are estimates, not measured test results. Compressor appliances can swing widely because they cycle.

Six Kilowatts Still Requires a Leg-by-Leg Load Plan

Both units list 6,000W continuous AC output and 10,200W starting wattage. That is the big reason either model makes sense for home backup and RV power.

That output gives you room for:

  • Refrigerators and freezers
  • Well pumps and sump pumps
  • RV power setups
  • Microwaves and coffee makers in short bursts
  • Shop tools
  • Some 240V appliances
  • Transfer-switch backup loads

However, output is not the same thing as runtime. A 6,000W inverter can run serious gear, but the 3,840Wh battery can still drain fast.

So don’t think of either model as a normal whole-home battery unless you add expansion packs. Think of them as high-output backup stations for priority loads.

Power output result: tie. The F3800 Plus does not win on inverter output because both models list the same 6,000W continuous rating.

Solar Windows and Generator Paths Decide Recovery

Draw the sourcesGrid, generator, PV strings, vehicle, and panel equipment.
Validate each windowCold Voc, current, connector, charging power, and cable rating.
Draw the loads120V legs, 240V circuits, RV feed, EV use, and essential priorities.
Commission failuresLoss, low battery, generator start, solar return, and grid restoration.

More solar watts are valuable only when the array can remain inside every input boundary in the coldest expected weather. A generator path likewise needs stable voltage and frequency, adequate continuous output, and a compatible charging method.

Charging is where the two models separate more clearly.

The standard Anker SOLIX F3800 has the clearer wall-charging story in the supplied data. Owners report AC charging around 1,800W, with full recharges often landing around 2-3 hours when the battery is warm and charge settings allow it.

The F3800 Plus has less clearly stated standard AC wall input in the provided data. Instead, its stronger charging story is built around solar and generator-supported use.

The solar difference is important:

If you only charge from the wall before storms, the F3800 is probably fine. If you want to recover energy during long outages, the Plus has the stronger setup.

Before buying panels, confirm voltage, amperage, connector type, and adapter compatibility. Solar input numbers only help if your panels actually match the power station’s limits.

At 130 Pounds, Portability Becomes Site Planning

The F3800 weighs 132.28 lb. The F3800 Plus weighs 135.58 lb.

That 3.3 lb difference does not matter in real life. Both are rollable backup systems, not normal portable camping batteries.

Use this weight context:

Both Anker units belong in the last category. They can move across smooth floors, but stairs, gravel, truck beds, and returns are a different story.

Plan the storage location before delivery. A garage, utility room, RV bay, cabin corner, or backup panel area makes more sense than a closet upstairs.

Portability result: tie, with a tiny edge to the standard F3800. In practice, both need the same handling plan.

Expansion Multiplies the Commissioning Burden

Both power stations use LiFePO4, also called LFP. That’s the right chemistry for this kind of large backup battery.

The supplied data does not list a specific cycle-life number for either model. Both are marketed around a 10-year lifespan, and both list a 5-year warranty.

That said, battery care still matters. Avoid storing either unit at 0% for long periods. For normal storage, keeping the battery around 50-80% is usually a safer habit, then topping off before storms.

Cold weather is also worth watching. Owner feedback around the F3800 points to charging slowdowns in cold conditions. Unless Anker confirms different behavior for the Plus, treat both as batteries that prefer moderate temperatures.

NEMA Labels Are Not Interchangeable Promises

The app experience is similar because both use the Anker app with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth. You can monitor power, adjust charge settings, update firmware, and check system behavior remotely.

That’s useful when the unit sits in a garage, RV bay, or utility corner.

The bigger difference is outlet layout. The standard F3800 gives you strong high-power support with NEMA 14-50 and L14-30 use cases. The F3800 Plus lists 15 total outlets and includes RV-friendly support such as L14-30 and TT-30P.

That gives the Plus a more flexible plug-in story, especially for RV owners.

However, the supplied data does not fully specify USB-C, USB-A, DC, or car-socket details for either model. So don’t buy either unit based on phone-charging ports. Buy them for high-output AC, 240V use, solar, and backup integration.

The F3800 Plus Upgrade Test

Pay for Plus when

The TT-30R, revised generator route, or 3,200W compatible solar design removes external equipment or meaningfully shortens recovery.

Keep the original when

Its 14-50R path is required, the existing installation is already commissioned, or Plus adds no usable interface.

Compare the full installed system: station, batteries, panel equipment, inlet or transfer hardware, generator cable, solar balance of system, labor, and permits. Base-unit pricing is not the project price.

The F3800 Plus is only the better value if you’ll use what makes it different.

If your plan is simple — charge from the wall, run a fridge, power a router, keep lights on, and maybe feed a transfer switch — the standard F3800 may be the smarter buy.

If your plan includes solar recovery, RV use, cabin loads, generator charging, and long-term expansion, the Plus starts to make more sense.

Current prices change too often to lock in a fair $/Wh number here. Before publishing, divide the live price by 3,840Wh, then compare the result against features, not just capacity.

Installer handoff: provide the exact station model, manual revision, receptacle map, desired circuits, largest startup loads, generator model, PV string data, expansion plan, and required transfer behavior. Ask the electrician to return a one-line diagram and labeled operating procedure.

Commission normal operation and controlled failures separately. Verify each 120V leg, selected 240V load, RV connection, solar input, generator charging, app control, low-battery behavior, and grid restoration. Observe whether the installation requires manual load shedding and document which loads must remain off during limited-energy operation.

Finally, confirm the physical site. The station needs a stable route over thresholds, room for cables and ventilation, protection from weather, and access that does not require lifting 130 pounds during an emergency. Expansion batteries multiply both energy and floor-space obligations. These site details can make the correct electrical model impractical in a particular home.

Write an outage runbook for every household user. It should identify the transfer sequence, circuits that may be energized, loads that must remain off, minimum reserve, generator start conditions, solar disconnect procedure, and shutdown steps. Label cables at both ends and store unused adapters separately. A high-output battery system can be technically compatible yet operationally unsafe when nobody remembers which cable or mode belongs to which source.

Schedule a seasonal review. Cold weather can raise PV open-circuit voltage and restrict battery charging, while summer heat can reduce charging power or increase fan operation. Update the circuit schedule when a pump, refrigerator, EV, RV, generator, or panel array changes. Recommission after firmware updates that affect energy management or integration. The system remains dependable only while the documented topology still matches the equipment in service.

Do not treat emergency EV charging as an ordinary daily load. Confirm the exact output interface, vehicle acceptance, cable rating, grounding behavior, and energy reserve, then decide which household circuits will be shed before the vehicle is connected. A few kilowatt-hours can provide limited mobility, but the same energy may be more valuable for a well pump, refrigeration, heat controls, and communications during a prolonged outage. Write that priority into the outage runbook before an emergency begins, and rehearse it safely.

Best Standard 240V Backup Pick

Anker SOLIX F3800 Review: Big 240V Backup Power Without the Generator Noise

Anker SOLIX F3800 Review: Big 240V Backup Power Without the Generator Noise

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • 3840Wh LiFePO4 battery supports refrigerators, routers, medical devices, and short outages
  • 6000W continuous 120V/240V output with 10200W surge for pumps and RV loads
  • Up to 2400W solar input, but voltage and amperage limits need planning
  • App controls charge speed, output settings, monitoring, and firmware updates
  • 132.28 lb body rolls well on flat floors but needs help for lifting

Best if

  • You want standard 240V backup for essentials, RV power, or a transfer-switch setup
  • You value clear wall charging up to about 1800W from a household circuit
  • You’re powering fridges, routers, lights, well pumps, or short high-wattage loads

Skip if

  • You need the higher solar input and generator-focused flexibility of the Plus
  • You expect automatic 240V pass-through while charging from standard AC
  • You need multi-day whole-home runtime from the base battery alone

The Anker SOLIX F3800 is the better fit if you want large 120V / 240V backup without paying extra for Plus features you may not use. It has the same 3,840Wh base battery, same 6,000W continuous output, and same 10,200W starting-wattage rating as the Plus. The main tradeoff is solar input. At 2,400W max, it’s still strong, but it gives up headroom to the F3800 Plus.

Capacity3840Wh (expandable up to 26.9kWh with extra batteries)
AC Output6000W continuous, 10200W surge (pure sine reported by owners)
Solar Input2400W max via solar input; connector not specified in provided data
AC Charging~2–3 hours full when warm, up to about 1800W
Weight132.28 lb (60 kg)
Best EdgeLighter standard pick with clearer wall-charging behavior
Main TradeoffLower solar ceiling than the Plus — less flexible for long outages
Best Upgraded 240V Backup Pick

Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus Review: Big Battery Backup for Homes, RVs, and Cabins

Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus Review: Big Battery Backup for Homes, RVs, and Cabins

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • 3840Wh LiFePO4 battery supports home essentials, RVs, cabins, and workshops
  • 6000W continuous output handles serious 120V/240V appliance and pump loads
  • 3200W solar input gives it stronger recovery potential than the F3800
  • 240V generator bypass support helps reduce gas-generator runtime during outages
  • 135.58 lb design is rollable, but stairs and vehicle loading are tough

Best if

  • You’re building a higher-input backup setup with solar, generator charging, or expansion
  • You’re powering an RV, cabin, shed, workshop, or essential home circuits
  • You value faster solar recovery for longer off-grid use

Skip if

  • You just need simpler standard 240V backup for occasional short outages
  • You want a lightweight unit one person can lift into a vehicle
  • You need fully specified standard AC wall-charging details before buying

The Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus is the better choice if you’re treating this as the start of a larger power system. The battery and inverter match the standard model, but the Plus adds stronger solar input, broader outlet flexibility, and a bigger expansion story. It’s especially appealing for RV owners, cabin users, and buyers who want more ways to recharge during long outages.

Capacity3840Wh (expandable to 26.9kWh with one unit, or 53kWh with two units)
AC Output6000W continuous, 10200W surge (pure sine not explicitly listed in provided specs)
Solar Input3200W max via solar input; connector not specified in provided data
AC ChargingStandard AC time not specified; supports 240V generator use via 6000W bypass
Weight135.58 lb (61.5 kg)
Best EdgeHigher solar ceiling plus stronger generator-support story
Main TradeoffHeavier unit with less clearly defined standard AC charging specs

Product Comparison

Feature Anker SOLIX F3800 Review: Big 240V Backup Power Without the Generator Noise Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus Review: Big Battery Backup for Homes, RVs, and Cabins
Product Image
Anker SOLIX F3800 Review: Big 240V Backup Power Without the Generator Noise
Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus Review: Big Battery Backup for Homes, RVs, and Cabins
Price $2599 $1799 $2699 $2294.99
Rating
4.1 / 5
4.3 / 5
Category Portable Power Stations Portable Power Stations
Brand Anker Anker
Model / SKU Anker SOLIX F3800 / A1790 (ASIN: B0C5C9HMQ2) Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus / A1790P (ASIN: B0DTSSCHG6)
Battery capacity 3840 Wh 3840 Wh
Battery chemistry LiFePO4 (LFP) LiFePO4 (LFP)
Cycle-life rating 3,000 cycles to 80% remaining capacity Not published for this exact model in the current source set
Expandable capacity Yes — supports up to 6 battery packs for 26.9 kWh; two F3800 units with 12 battery packs are marketed for larger backup setups Yes — supports up to 6 extra batteries with one unit for 26.9 kWh, or up to 12 extra batteries with two F3800 Plus units for 53 kWh
Continuous AC output 6000 W continuous 6000 W continuous
Surge / peak output 9,000W surge output 10200 W peak / starting wattage
AC voltage, frequency, and waveform 120V/240V AC, pure sine wave; frequency not published for this exact model 120V/240V AC, pure sine wave; frequency not published for this exact model
AC outlets 6 × 120V outlets plus NEMA 14-50 and L14-30 high-power outputs 15 total outlets manufacturer-rated (includes NEMA L14-30 and NEMA TT-30P; exact AC outlet breakdown not fully specified)
High-current, RV, or 240V output NEMA 14-50 and L14-30 outputs; 120V/240V support NEMA 14-50 and L14-30 outputs; 120V/240V support
USB-C outputs 3 × USB-C, 100W maximum each Not published for this exact model in the current source set
USB-A outputs 2 × USB-A, 12W maximum each Not published for this exact model in the current source set
12V / DC outputs 1 × 120W car socket Not published for this exact model in the current source set
Maximum solar input 2400 W 3200 W (solar input; connector details not specified)
Solar input range and connector 2 × XT60 solar inputs; 2,400W combined maximum; verify each input's current manual limits Not published for this exact model in the current source set; exact PV voltage/current window and connector are unavailable
Maximum AC input 2,990W maximum Not published for this exact model in the current source set
AC recharge time About 2-3 hours at high AC charge rate when warm; slower when charge rate is limited or battery is cold Not published for this exact model in the current source set
Solar recharge estimate Planning estimate: as fast as a few hours with a high-output solar setup in strong sun; much longer with 400W portable panels or poor panel matching Planning estimate: approximately 1.5-2 hours with full 3200W solar in ideal sun (real-world time depends on panels, weather, angle, and losses)
UPS / EPS support and transfer time Limited — some 120V UPS-style use reported, but 240V / high-power pass-through behavior has important limitations Limited
App / connectivity Yes — Anker app with Wi-Fi + Bluetooth Yes — Anker app with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
Operating temperature / weather rating Discharge: -4–104°F (-20–40°C); charge: 32–104°F (0–40°C); ingress rating not published Discharge: -4–104°F (-20–40°C); charge: 32–104°F (0–40°C); not waterproof
Dimensions 27.6 × 15.3 × 15.6 in (702 × 388 × 395 mm), including wheels 27.6 × 15.3 × 15.6 in (702 × 388 × 395 mm), including wheels
Weight 132.28 lb 135.58 lb (61.5 kg)
Warranty 5-year manufacturer warranty 5-year manufacturer warranty
Buy Now View Deal View Deal

F3800 Verdict: Match the Interfaces Before Choosing Plus

Choose the original Anker SOLIX F3800 when its documented NEMA 14-50R and L14-30R outputs fit the planned system, the installation is already commissioned, or the lower total project cost matters more than additional solar input. It retains the same 3,840Wh base capacity and 6,000W continuous output as Plus.

Choose F3800 Plus when the TT-30R RV outlet, revised generator and Home Power Panel paths, or 3,200W compatible solar design solves a real integration requirement. Do not buy it merely for the larger peak or the generation label.

The correct model is the one whose voltage windows, receptacles, accessories, and panel topology match a verified electrical drawing. Include expansion batteries, balance-of-system hardware, electrician labor, permits, and commissioning in the cost. For an existing F3800 installation, migrate only when a Plus interface resolves a documented limitation.

Have the final topology reviewed before ordering non-returnable panel, generator, PV, RV, or EV hardware. Preserve the approved diagram, cable labels, firmware versions, and commissioning results near the system. The better F3800 is the one that fits that documented topology with fewer adapters, workarounds, and prohibited operating combinations.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do F3800 and F3800 Plus have the same battery capacity?

Yes. Both begin with 3,840Wh. Their more important differences involve solar input, generator paths, receptacles, and integration.

Does F3800 Plus accept more solar?

Yes. The normalized records specify 3,200W for Plus versus 2,400W for the original. The array must still satisfy each port's voltage and current limits, including cold open-circuit voltage.

Which model has a TT-30R RV outlet?

Anker's official difference guide identifies TT-30R on F3800 Plus and not on the original F3800. Verify the exact regional model before purchase.

Can an adapter make the F3800 receptacles equivalent?

Do not assume so. Plug shape, voltage, phase, neutral, grounding, and current ratings all matter. A qualified electrician should approve the complete topology.

Is F3800 Plus automatically better for home backup?

No. It is better only when its interfaces and charging paths match the home integration plan. The original may fit an existing panel or high-current route better.

How should I compare F3800 system prices?

Include the station, batteries, transfer or panel equipment, solar hardware, generator cable, permits, labor, and commissioning—not only the base-unit sale price.

×

About Solar Power Picks

Portable Solar Power, Backup Power, and Off-Grid Gear Guides

Your trusted source for honest, in-depth product reviews and comparisons.

Quick Links

  • Best Picks
  • Reviews
  • Guides
  • Comparisons
  • Calculator
  • Privacy policy
  • Favorites

Categories

  • Portable Power Stations
  • Solar Batteries
  • Solar Charge Controllers
  • Solar Generators
  • Solar Panels

© 2026 Solar Power Picks. All Rights Reserved.

We may earn a commission when you purchase through links on our site. Learn more