Solar Power Picks logo with sun, solar panel, and green energy icon

  • Home
  • Reviews
  • Best
    • Best portable power stations
    • Best Solar Panels
    • Best Solar Generators
    • Best Solar Charge Controllers
    • Best Solar Batteries
  • Guides
    • Portable Power Stations Guides
    • Solar Panels Guides
    • Solar Generators Guides
    • Solar Charge Controllers Guides
    • Solar Batteries Guides
  • Comparisons
    • Portable Power Stations Comparisons
    • Solar Panels Comparisons
    • Solar Generators Comparisons
    • Solar Charge Controllers Comparisons
    • Solar Batteries Comparisons
  • Calculator
Home / Solar Batteries / Best / Heated LiFePO4 Batteries: 5 Picks From 100Ah to 460Ah

Heated LiFePO4 Batteries: 5 Picks From 100Ah to 460Ah

OUR PICKS

LiTime 12V 100Ah Self-Heating Review: Winter Logic Explained

Best 100Ah Overall

LiTime 12V 100Ah Self-Heating Review: Winter Logic Explained

Check price at Amazon Jump to details
Vatrer 12V 100Ah Self-Heating Review: Group 31 Winter Value

Best Group 31 Value

Vatrer 12V 100Ah Self-Heating Review: Group 31 Winter Value

Check price at Amazon Jump to details
LiTime 12V 200Ah Plus Self-Heating Review: Current Before Apps

Best High-Current Value

LiTime 12V 200Ah Plus Self-Heating Review: Current Before Apps

Check price at Amazon Jump to details
LiTime 12V 320Ah Mini Self-Heating Review: Dense, Smart Storage

Best Energy Density

LiTime 12V 320Ah Mini Self-Heating Review: Dense, Smart Storage

Check price at Amazon Jump to details
Vatrer 12V 460Ah Self-Heating Review: A 5.9kWh Installation Project

Best Single-Case Capacity

Vatrer 12V 460Ah Self-Heating Review: A 5.9kWh Installation Project

Check price at Amazon Jump to details

“Self-heating” is not one standardized feature. A useful comparison needs the activation temperature, stop temperature, minimum incoming current, source of heater energy, warm-up time, and what happens when winter solar cannot meet the threshold. Our five picks range from 1,280Wh to 5,888Wh because capacity changes that entire energy balance.

Best 100Ah default:LiTime Group 24 for the clearest heater sequence and complete exact-model documentation.

We Ranked Heater Conditions Before Capacity

A large battery with vague heat behavior can be less useful than a smaller unit whose winter sequence is predictable. LiTime’s 100Ah needs at least 10A; Vatrer’s 100Ah needs more than 10A; LiTime’s 200Ah needs at least 20A. The larger LiTime 320Ah adds an app-selectable mode that can use stored battery energy under allowed conditions. Vatrer 460Ah documents temperature thresholds but its exact input behavior deserves confirmation for the delivered revision.

Winter source producesActual current after weather and system losses.
Heater qualifiesOnly if the exact minimum and temperature band are met.
Cells warmEnergy is spent before normal charging.
Bank recoversRemaining sun must cover loads and prior deficit.

100Ah: Group 24 Precision or Group 31 Value?

LiTime and Vatrer both store 1,280Wh and publish 100A continuous current. LiTime is the compact Group 24 model and adds a 500A one-second pulse with published warm-up timing. Vatrer uses a longer Group 31 case, lacks an exact timed surge in the reviewed source, and has conflicting 4S/parallel copy—but remains an attractive value option when that tray already exists.

LiTime 100Ah

Choose for compactness, one-second pulse documentation, and clearer heater timing.

Vatrer 100Ah

Choose for Group 31 replacement value when continuous loads remain moderate.

200Ah and 320Ah Solve Different Large-Battery Problems

LiTime 200Ah prioritizes current: 200A continuous and 800A for one second, with no Bluetooth. It is logical in a system that already uses a bank shunt. LiTime 320Ah prioritizes energy density and control: 4,096Wh, 200A continuous, 1,000A for one second, Bluetooth, and two heater modes.

Decision 200Ah Plus 320Ah Mini
Monitoring External architecture required Built-in app plus optional shunt
Nominal energy 2,560Wh 4,096Wh
Heater planning At least 20A incoming Incoming-power and app-selectable energy mode
Owner coverage 9 exact reviews 11 exact reviews

460Ah Consolidates a Bank and a Risk

Vatrer’s 460Ah stores 5,888Wh and supports 300A continuous current in one enclosure. It removes several parallel interconnects, but weighs 104.7 pounds, carries IP54 rather than IP65, and concentrates the complete system in one BMS and case. Large capacity also needs a large recovery source; storage does not create solar energy.

One-case benefit

  • Fewer interconnects
  • No parallel SOC matching for one unit
  • One app view
One-case cost

  • Heavy removal and service
  • Concentrated fault energy
  • No battery-level redundancy

Owner Evidence Is Uneven by Model

The 100Ah LiTime has 24 retained exact reviews; Vatrer 100Ah has 14 but is positive-skewed; LiTime 200Ah has nine; Vatrer 460Ah has 32; LiTime 320Ah has 11. We do not reward a smaller positive-only sample over a larger mixed one. Coverage determines confidence, while primary documentation determines published limits.

No population claims: captured reports can reveal failed heating, BMS cutoff, support friction, or successful winter use. They cannot calculate a brand-wide defect rate.

A Cold-Weather Buying Checklist

  1. Define the coldest charge condition: cell temperature, not only outdoor air.
  2. Prove heater input: actual winter amps at the battery after losses.
  3. Budget warm-up energy and time: then calculate remaining solar recovery.
  4. Match current and surge: include duration and low-voltage inverter draw.
  5. Engineer the enclosure: weight, restraint, IP rating, terminals, fuse, disconnect, and service access.

Final Picks by System

LiTime 100Ah is the compact default; Vatrer 100Ah is the Group 31 value alternative. LiTime 200Ah is best when a 200A-class path and external shunt are already planned. LiTime 320Ah wins energy density and heater control. Vatrer 460Ah is for an engineered large 12V system that values consolidation enough to accept its mass and IP54 enclosure.

Best 100Ah Overall

LiTime 12V 100Ah Self-Heating Review: Winter Logic Explained

LiTime 12V 100Ah Self-Heating Review: Winter Logic Explained

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • 1,280Wh
  • Group 24
  • 10A heater minimum
  • Bluetooth; 500A/1s

Best if

  • A compact heated smart battery is the goal
  • Winter source can exceed 10A
  • One-second surge fits

Skip if

  • You need more than 100A continuous
  • Winter solar is very small
  • You want no app dependence

The best documented compact heated default: Group 24, Bluetooth, 100A continuous, 500A/1s, IP65, and a 10A heater-input minimum with published warm-up timing.

BrandLiTime
Exact modelL12V100-100-GROUP24-HBT-4-A70
Battery chemistryLiFePO4 (LFP)
Nominal voltage12.8V
Rated capacity100Ah
Rated energy1,280Wh
Recommended depth of dischargeUp to 100% DoD; 80% DoD is paired with the 6,000-cycle figure
Recommended charge current20A
Maximum continuous charge current100A
Maximum continuous discharge current100A
Peak discharge current500A for 1 second
Recommended charge voltage14.4V ± 0.2V (CC/CV)
Low-temperature charge protectionCharging is blocked below 32°F (0°C) until the cells are warmed
Self-heatingYes; automatic heating from -4 to 41°F (-20 to 5°C), with at least 10A charging input
Charge / discharge temperatureCharge: -4–122°F (-20–50°C) with heating; discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C)
BMS protectionsOvervoltage, undervoltage, charge/discharge overcurrent, short-circuit, overload, and high/low-temperature protection
MonitoringBuilt-in Bluetooth with LiTime app
Series / parallel configurationUp to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P)
TerminalsM8 bolts
Dimensions10.24 × 6.61 × 8.27 in (Group 24)
Weight22.71 lb
Ingress ratingIP65
Cycle-life specification4,000 cycles at 100% DoD; 6,000 at 80%; 15,000 at 60%
Warranty5 years
Best Group 31 Value

Vatrer 12V 100Ah Self-Heating Review: Group 31 Winter Value

Vatrer 12V 100Ah Self-Heating Review: Group 31 Winter Value

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • 1,280Wh
  • Group 31
  • >10A heater input
  • Bluetooth and IP65

Best if

  • A Group 31 tray is available
  • Moderate loads dominate
  • Value matters

Skip if

  • A timed surge is required
  • Compact Group 24 fit matters
  • Large-bank rules must be unambiguous

Vatrer brings automatic heating, Bluetooth, IP65, and 100A current to an existing Group 31-style space. Missing timed surge and conflicting bank copy reduce confidence.

BrandVatrer Power
Exact modelD-12V-100AH-Black-H-10-KB
Battery chemistryLiFePO4 (LFP)
Nominal voltage12.8V
Rated capacity100Ah
Rated energy1,280Wh
Recommended depth of dischargeUp to 100% DoD; the manufacturer pairs the cycle figure with deep-cycle use but not one exact DoD condition
Recommended charge current20A
Maximum continuous charge current100A
Maximum continuous discharge current100A
Peak discharge currentNot published for the exact current model
Recommended charge voltage14.2–14.6V (CC/CV)
Low-temperature charge protectionHeating starts below 32°F (0°C) and stops at 41°F (5°C); charge input must exceed 10A
Self-heatingYes; automatic
Charge / discharge temperatureCharge: -4–122°F (-20–50°C) with heating; discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C)
BMS protectionsOvercharge, over-discharge, overcurrent, short-circuit, and temperature protection
MonitoringBuilt-in Bluetooth with Vatrer app
Series / parallel configurationCurrent technical table permits up to 4 in series and 10 in parallel; other page copy says 4S4P, so verify large banks
TerminalsM8 bolts
Dimensions12.95 × 6.77 × 8.42 in (Group 31)
Weight24.2 lb
Ingress ratingIP65
Cycle-life specificationAt least 5,000 cycles; exact test condition is not stated
Warranty5-year limited warranty; current policy changes remedy/shipping terms after year 3
Best High-Current Value

LiTime 12V 200Ah Plus Self-Heating Review: Current Before Apps

LiTime 12V 200Ah Plus Self-Heating Review: Current Before Apps

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • 2,560Wh
  • 200A continuous
  • 800A for one second
  • 20A heater minimum

Best if

  • A 200A path is genuinely needed
  • A separate shunt is planned
  • Winter charge current is substantial

Skip if

  • Direct cell/app data is required
  • Manual handling must stay light
  • Evidence depth leads

The 200Ah Plus doubles energy and continuous current without built-in Bluetooth. It suits a system already using a bank shunt, but its heater needs at least 20A and exact owner history is thin.

BrandLiTime
Exact model12.8V 200Ah Plus Self-Heating
Battery chemistryLiFePO4 (LFP)
Nominal voltage12.8V
Rated capacity200Ah
Rated energy2,560Wh
Recommended depth of dischargeUp to 100% DoD; 80% DoD is paired with the 6,000-cycle figure
Recommended charge current40A
Maximum continuous charge current200A
Maximum continuous discharge current200A
Peak discharge current800A for 1 second
Recommended charge voltage14.4V ± 0.2V (CC/CV)
Low-temperature charge protectionCharging is blocked below 32°F (0°C) until the cells are warmed
Self-heatingYes; automatic heating from -4 to 41°F (-20 to 5°C), with at least 20A charging input
Charge / discharge temperatureCharge: -4–122°F (-20–50°C) with heating; discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C)
BMS protectionsOvervoltage, undervoltage, charge/discharge overcurrent, short-circuit, overload, and high/low-temperature protection
MonitoringNo built-in Bluetooth
Series / parallel configurationUp to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P)
TerminalsM8 bolts
Dimensions21.0 × 8.2 × 8.5 in
Weight44.1 lb
Ingress ratingIP65
Cycle-life specification4,000 cycles at 100% DoD; 6,000 at 80%; 15,000 at 60%
Warranty5 years
Best Energy Density

LiTime 12V 320Ah Mini Self-Heating Review: Dense, Smart Storage

LiTime 12V 320Ah Mini Self-Heating Review: Dense, Smart Storage

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • 4,096Wh
  • 200A continuous
  • 1,000A for one second
  • Dual heating modes

Best if

  • Energy per footprint leads
  • App-controlled heat strategy is useful
  • The array can restore a large bank

Skip if

  • You need mature owner history
  • A 57.3-pound case is too heavy
  • Long surge duration matters

A compact-for-capacity 4,096Wh case with 200A current, Bluetooth, IP65, and two heating strategies. Its 11-review sample is early, and 1,000A lasts only one second.

BrandLiTime
Exact modelL12V320-200-HBT-4-W190
Battery chemistryLiFePO4 (LFP)
Nominal voltage12.8V
Rated capacity320Ah
Rated energy4,096Wh
Recommended depth of dischargeUp to 100% DoD; 80% DoD is paired with the 6,000-cycle figure
Recommended charge current64A
Maximum continuous charge current200A
Maximum continuous discharge current200A
Peak discharge current1,000A for 1 second
Recommended charge voltage14.4V ± 0.2V (CC/CV)
Low-temperature charge protectionCharging is blocked below 32°F (0°C) until the cells are warmed
Self-heatingYes; automatic heating from -4 to 41°F (-20 to 5°C), including an app-selectable energy-efficient mode
Charge / discharge temperatureCharge: -4–122°F (-20–50°C) with heating; discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C)
BMS protectionsOvervoltage, undervoltage, charge/discharge overcurrent, short-circuit, overload, and high/low-temperature protection
MonitoringBuilt-in Bluetooth with LiTime app
Series / parallel configurationUp to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P)
TerminalsM8 × 16 mm bolts
Dimensions14.49 × 7.44 × 10.04 in
Weight57.3 lb
Ingress ratingIP65
Cycle-life specification4,000 cycles at 100% DoD; 6,000 at 80%; 15,000 at 60%
Warranty5 years
Best Single-Case Capacity

Vatrer 12V 460Ah Self-Heating Review: A 5.9kWh Installation Project

Vatrer 12V 460Ah Self-Heating Review: A 5.9kWh Installation Project

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • 5,888Wh
  • 300A continuous
  • Bluetooth and heating
  • 104.7 lb; IP54

Best if

  • Fewer parallel connections are valuable
  • The structure supports 105 pounds
  • A 300A-class path is engineered

Skip if

  • Service weight must stay manageable
  • IP65 is required
  • A timed surge is essential

Nearly 5.9kWh and 300A continuous in one Bluetooth heated case reduce parallel connections. The 104.7-pound IP54 enclosure and warranty cost schedule make it an installation project.

BrandVatrer Power
Exact modelD-460AH-300A-HJR-JZ
Battery chemistryLiFePO4 (LFP)
Nominal voltage12.8V
Rated capacity460Ah
Rated energy5,888Wh
Recommended depth of dischargeUp to 100% DoD; the manufacturer does not state one exact cycle-test DoD condition
Recommended charge current92A
Maximum continuous charge current300A
Maximum continuous discharge current300A
Peak discharge currentNot published for the exact current model
Recommended charge voltage14.2–14.6V (CC/CV)
Low-temperature charge protectionHeating starts below 32°F (0°C) and stops at 41°F (5°C)
Self-heatingYes; automatic
Charge / discharge temperatureCharge: -4–122°F (-20–50°C) with heating; discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C)
BMS protectionsOvercharge, over-discharge, overcurrent, short-circuit, and temperature protection
MonitoringBuilt-in Bluetooth with Vatrer app
Series / parallel configurationCurrent technical table permits up to 4 in series and 10 in parallel; other page copy says 4S4P, so verify large banks
TerminalsM8 bolts
Dimensions18.78 × 10.75 × 9.92 in
Weight104.7 lb
Ingress ratingIP54
Cycle-life specificationAt least 5,000 cycles; exact test condition is not stated
Warranty5-year limited warranty; current policy changes buyer-cost terms after year 2

Product Comparison

Feature LiTime 12V 100Ah Self-Heating Review: Winter Logic Explained Vatrer 12V 100Ah Self-Heating Review: Group 31 Winter Value LiTime 12V 200Ah Plus Self-Heating Review: Current Before Apps LiTime 12V 320Ah Mini Self-Heating Review: Dense, Smart Storage Vatrer 12V 460Ah Self-Heating Review: A 5.9kWh Installation Project
Product Image
LiTime 12V 100Ah Self-Heating Review: Winter Logic Explained
Vatrer 12V 100Ah Self-Heating Review: Group 31 Winter Value
LiTime 12V 200Ah Plus Self-Heating Review: Current Before Apps
LiTime 12V 320Ah Mini Self-Heating Review: Dense, Smart Storage
Vatrer 12V 460Ah Self-Heating Review: A 5.9kWh Installation Project
Price $409.99 $279.98 $579.99 $799.99 $1239.98 $997.49
Rating
4.7 / 5
4.9 / 5
4.5 / 5
4.7 / 5
4.8 / 5
Category Solar Batteries Solar Batteries Solar Batteries Solar Batteries Solar Batteries
Brand LiTime Vatrer Power LiTime LiTime Vatrer Power
Exact model L12V100-100-GROUP24-HBT-4-A70 D-12V-100AH-Black-H-10-KB 12.8V 200Ah Plus Self-Heating L12V320-200-HBT-4-W190 D-460AH-300A-HJR-JZ
Battery chemistry LiFePO4 (LFP) LiFePO4 (LFP) LiFePO4 (LFP) LiFePO4 (LFP) LiFePO4 (LFP)
Nominal voltage 12.8V 12.8V 12.8V 12.8V 12.8V
Rated capacity 100Ah 100Ah 200Ah 320Ah 460Ah
Rated energy 1,280Wh 1,280Wh 2,560Wh 4,096Wh 5,888Wh
Recommended depth of discharge Up to 100% DoD; 80% DoD is paired with the 6,000-cycle figure Up to 100% DoD; the manufacturer pairs the cycle figure with deep-cycle use but not one exact DoD condition Up to 100% DoD; 80% DoD is paired with the 6,000-cycle figure Up to 100% DoD; 80% DoD is paired with the 6,000-cycle figure Up to 100% DoD; the manufacturer does not state one exact cycle-test DoD condition
Recommended charge current 20A 20A 40A 64A 92A
Maximum continuous charge current 100A 100A 200A 200A 300A
Maximum continuous discharge current 100A 100A 200A 200A 300A
Peak discharge current 500A for 1 second Not published for the exact current model 800A for 1 second 1,000A for 1 second Not published for the exact current model
Recommended charge voltage 14.4V ± 0.2V (CC/CV) 14.2–14.6V (CC/CV) 14.4V ± 0.2V (CC/CV) 14.4V ± 0.2V (CC/CV) 14.2–14.6V (CC/CV)
Low-temperature charge protection Charging is blocked below 32°F (0°C) until the cells are warmed Heating starts below 32°F (0°C) and stops at 41°F (5°C); charge input must exceed 10A Charging is blocked below 32°F (0°C) until the cells are warmed Charging is blocked below 32°F (0°C) until the cells are warmed Heating starts below 32°F (0°C) and stops at 41°F (5°C)
Self-heating Yes; automatic heating from -4 to 41°F (-20 to 5°C), with at least 10A charging input Yes; automatic Yes; automatic heating from -4 to 41°F (-20 to 5°C), with at least 20A charging input Yes; automatic heating from -4 to 41°F (-20 to 5°C), including an app-selectable energy-efficient mode Yes; automatic
Charge / discharge temperature Charge: -4–122°F (-20–50°C) with heating; discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C) Charge: -4–122°F (-20–50°C) with heating; discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C) Charge: -4–122°F (-20–50°C) with heating; discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C) Charge: -4–122°F (-20–50°C) with heating; discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C) Charge: -4–122°F (-20–50°C) with heating; discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C)
BMS protections Overvoltage, undervoltage, charge/discharge overcurrent, short-circuit, overload, and high/low-temperature protection Overcharge, over-discharge, overcurrent, short-circuit, and temperature protection Overvoltage, undervoltage, charge/discharge overcurrent, short-circuit, overload, and high/low-temperature protection Overvoltage, undervoltage, charge/discharge overcurrent, short-circuit, overload, and high/low-temperature protection Overcharge, over-discharge, overcurrent, short-circuit, and temperature protection
Monitoring Built-in Bluetooth with LiTime app Built-in Bluetooth with Vatrer app No built-in Bluetooth Built-in Bluetooth with LiTime app Built-in Bluetooth with Vatrer app
Series / parallel configuration Up to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P) Current technical table permits up to 4 in series and 10 in parallel; other page copy says 4S4P, so verify large banks Up to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P) Up to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P) Current technical table permits up to 4 in series and 10 in parallel; other page copy says 4S4P, so verify large banks
Terminals M8 bolts M8 bolts M8 bolts M8 × 16 mm bolts M8 bolts
Dimensions 10.24 × 6.61 × 8.27 in (Group 24) 12.95 × 6.77 × 8.42 in (Group 31) 21.0 × 8.2 × 8.5 in 14.49 × 7.44 × 10.04 in 18.78 × 10.75 × 9.92 in
Weight 22.71 lb 24.2 lb 44.1 lb 57.3 lb 104.7 lb
Ingress rating IP65 IP65 IP65 IP65 IP54
Cycle-life specification 4,000 cycles at 100% DoD; 6,000 at 80%; 15,000 at 60% At least 5,000 cycles; exact test condition is not stated 4,000 cycles at 100% DoD; 6,000 at 80%; 15,000 at 60% 4,000 cycles at 100% DoD; 6,000 at 80%; 15,000 at 60% At least 5,000 cycles; exact test condition is not stated
Warranty 5 years 5-year limited warranty; current policy changes remedy/shipping terms after year 3 5 years 5 years 5-year limited warranty; current policy changes buyer-cost terms after year 2
Buy Now View Deal View Deal View Deal View Deal View Deal

A Heater Is a Charging System, Not a Checkbox

LiTime's heated Group 24 is the easiest 100Ah default; Vatrer 100Ah fits Group 31 trays; LiTime 200Ah prioritizes 200A current without Bluetooth; LiTime 320Ah leads energy density and heater control; Vatrer 460Ah consolidates 5.9kWh but demands engineered handling and protection.

Frequently Asked Questions

How does a self-heating LiFePO4 battery work?

When cells are too cold and qualifying charging power is present, the BMS diverts energy to internal heating until a recovery temperature is reached. Exact activation, stop point, current minimum, and energy source vary by model.

Will a small solar panel activate the heater?

Not necessarily. The 100Ah products in this guide require more than or at least 10A, while the LiTime 200Ah requires at least 20A. Winter irradiance and system loss can keep actual battery current below that threshold.

Does self-heating let LiFePO4 charge at any temperature?

No. It extends the operating strategy only within the model's documented range and when enough energy is available. Below the heater range or without qualifying input, charging can remain blocked.

Is a larger single battery better than several 100Ah units?

It reduces inter-battery connections and balancing, but increases handling weight, single-point dependency, and concentrated fault energy. Modular banks can be easier to service and expand.

Do heated batteries need Bluetooth?

No, but Bluetooth can reveal temperature and heating/protection state. A bank shunt remains useful for complete-system energy accounting; the LiTime 200Ah in this list intentionally uses that architecture.

Which exact products overlap with the Bluetooth Best list?

None. This heated roster contains five separate exact ASINs so the two Best pages do not recycle products.

×

About Solar Power Picks

Portable Solar Power, Backup Power, and Off-Grid Gear Guides

Your trusted source for honest, in-depth product reviews and comparisons.

Quick Links

  • Best Picks
  • Reviews
  • Guides
  • Comparisons
  • Calculator
  • Privacy policy
  • Favorites

Categories

  • Portable Power Stations
  • Solar Batteries
  • Solar Charge Controllers
  • Solar Generators
  • Solar Panels

© 2026 Solar Power Picks. All Rights Reserved.

We may earn a commission when you purchase through links on our site. Learn more