Solar Power Picks logo with sun, solar panel, and green energy icon

  • Home
  • Reviews
  • Best
    • Best portable power stations
    • Best Solar Panels
    • Best Solar Generators
    • Best Solar Charge Controllers
    • Best Solar Batteries
  • Guides
    • Portable Power Stations Guides
    • Solar Panels Guides
    • Solar Generators Guides
    • Solar Charge Controllers Guides
    • Solar Batteries Guides
  • Comparisons
    • Portable Power Stations Comparisons
    • Solar Panels Comparisons
    • Solar Generators Comparisons
    • Solar Charge Controllers Comparisons
    • Solar Batteries Comparisons
  • Calculator
Home / Solar Batteries / Best / Best 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 Batteries: Five Different Strengths

Best 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 Batteries: Five Different Strengths

OUR PICKS

LiTime Xtra-Mini Smart Review: Compact Battery, Useful App

Best Overall

LiTime Xtra-Mini Smart Review: Compact Battery, Useful App

Check price at Amazon Jump to details
Renogy Core Mini Review: Strong Manual, External Monitoring

Best Five-Second Surge

Renogy Core Mini Review: Strong Manual, External Monitoring

Check price at Amazon Jump to details
Battle Born BB10012 Review: Premium Support or Overpriced?

Best Premium Support Choice

Battle Born BB10012 Review: Premium Support or Overpriced?

Check price at Amazon Jump to details
Redodo 12V 100Ah Review: Long History, Basic BMS

Best Owner-History Depth

Redodo 12V 100Ah Review: Long History, Basic BMS

Check price at Amazon Jump to details
Power Queen Group 24 Review: Good Fit, Hard Questions

Best Group 24 Value

Power Queen Group 24 Review: Good Fit, Hard Questions

Check price at Amazon Jump to details

Choosing the best 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 batteries starts with the job behind the 100Ah label. Five batteries can share nominal capacity while differing in continuous current, surge duration, cold protection, physical footprint, monitoring, bank rules, warranty structure, and the quality of the evidence available for the exact model.

This ranking uses five completed exact-ASIN reviews and one common 24-row specification schema. Hard limits come from current manufacturer manuals and exact product pages; Amazon evidence contributes specific owner observations and dated marketplace context. Solar Power Picks did not capacity-test these batteries, and the ranking does not convert Amazon stars into an editorial score.

The default winner is LiTime’s Xtra-Mini Smart because it combines compactness, direct Bluetooth, 100A continuous current, and documented cold-charge cutoff with fewer system add-ons. That answer changes when a five-second startup surge, a longer 30-second surge, conventional Group 31 fit, premium documentation, or Group 24 replacement value is the actual priority.

What “Best” Means in a 100Ah Battery

Capacity class was only the entry requirement. Four products publish 12.8V and 1,280Wh; Battle Born publishes 12V and 100Ah, producing 1,200Wh by multiplication. None receives credit for energy the site did not measure. Instead, the first rating category considers how completely capacity and cycle conditions are documented and what the exact owner evidence can responsibly add.

Current capability is separate. Every pick supports 100A continuous discharge, but charge current and peak behavior differ. A large one-second pulse does not automatically beat a smaller surge that lasts five or thirty seconds. The relevant winner is the battery whose continuous ceiling and surge curve match the inverter’s documented DC demand.

BMS and temperature scoring rewards explicit thresholds, not a generic protection list. A battery that blocks cold charging but does not heat itself solves a different problem from a self-heated model. A battery with neither feature can still work in a controlled environment, but the system must provide reliable temperature protection.

Build and ownership combines enclosure, terminals, torque, monitoring, primary documentation, warranty structure, and exact-model owner evidence. A small recent sample lowers confidence rather than proving the product bad. A longer history exposes more possible failure and support outcomes, so complaint count alone is not a fair cross-product score.

How the ranking separates evidence from marketing

Ranking dimension What counted What did not count
Capacity evidence Exact-model rated energy, usable limits, and documented conditions Amp-hours treated as proof that every battery performs identically
Current envelope Continuous current plus amperage and duration of every surge The largest peak number without its time limit
BMS and temperature Published cutoff and recovery behavior for the exact model Protection borrowed from a heated or smart sibling
Ownership and documentation Manual quality, installation data, warranty terms, and exact-ASIN patterns Marketplace stars converted directly into an editorial score

How confident is each evidence layer?

Primary manuals and exact product pagesHigh for published limits

These define the operating boundaries used in the ranking, while internal conflicts are called out instead of averaged away.

Exact-ASIN owner reportsUseful but uneven

They reveal applications and failure modes, not population-wide rates or laboratory performance.

Marketplace price and starsSnapshot only

Both change over time and neither is converted directly into an editorial score.

Continuous Current Decides More Than Amp-Hours

A 100Ah battery describes stored charge, not how quickly the BMS will allow that charge to leave. All five reviewed batteries publish 100A maximum continuous discharge. At 12.8V nominal, that is a preliminary 1,280W DC boundary; Battle Born’s 12V rating produces 1,200W by the same simple math.

Neither result is an AC appliance recommendation. Inverter loss and low-voltage operation increase DC current, while motor or compressor startup can exceed the steady load. Cable resistance, terminal temperature, fuse and disconnect ratings, BMS timing, and ambient temperature can become the real limit before the nameplate inverter wattage is reached.

The peak numbers require their durations. LiTime lists 500A for one second. Renogy lists 300A for five seconds. Battle Born lists 200A for 30 seconds and a half-second allowance for larger loads. Power Queen and Redodo each have direct manual/web conflicts, so a surge-dependent design needs exact-revision confirmation rather than a ranking-table shortcut.

Charging can be asymmetric. Battle Born caps charge at 50A, while the other four list 100A maximum continuous charge; LiTime, Power Queen, and Redodo recommend 20A, Renogy lists 50A standard. Add the current from solar, alternator, converter, and inverter/charger when multiple sources can operate at once.

Four current questions that change the decision

Steady DC demandStart with the 100A continuous ceiling, then account for low voltage and conversion loss.
Startup demandMatch both amperage and duration; one second and 30 seconds are not interchangeable.
Simultaneous chargingAdd every source that can operate together rather than checking chargers one at a time.
Unknown load traceMeasure or obtain it before treating the largest advertised peak as sufficient evidence.

Cold Protection Splits the Shortlist

LiTime and Renogy clearly document a 32°F (0°C) charge cutoff plus a warmer recovery threshold. That hysteresis matters because it keeps the BMS from rapidly reconnecting at the exact boundary. Neither battery is self-heating, so charging can remain unavailable until the compartment warms or an external system supplies heat.

Battle Born also documents cold protection, but its current shared manual conflicts internally. A technical table starts charging at 25°F (-3.9°C), while charging guidance starts at 32°F and the BMS prose says current is blocked below 32°F. This roundup treats 32°F as the conservative operating boundary and does not award the standard model heat that belongs to BB10012H.

Power Queen Classic and Redodo Basic do not provide low-temperature charge cutoff. Their published charge ranges still begin at 32°F, which leaves enforcement to the installation. A controller with a correctly placed battery-temperature sensor, conditioned mounting, or engineered external heat can solve the problem; a generic lithium preset alone may not.

Discharge below freezing does not prove cold charging is safe. Several batteries permit loads down to -4°F (-20°C), creating a morning when the lights work but solar input should still be blocked. Every charging source must follow the temperature plan, not only the solar controller.

Cold-weather tie-breaker: A BMS cutoff can prevent unsafe charging, but it cannot warm the battery. The winning product still depends on where the cells sit and how the system restores charging after a freeze.

A complete cold-charge plan

Sense the cellsUse the battery BMS or a correctly placed external sensor—not outdoor air temperature alone.
Block every sourceSolar, alternator, converter, and inverter/charger must all respect the cold boundary.
Warm deliberatelyCondition the compartment or use an engineered heating system when charging must resume.
Reconnect at recoveryFollow the documented restart threshold rather than forcing charge at the cutoff point.

Fit, Monitoring, and the Cost of Missing Hardware

LiTime and Renogy share a 9.02 × 5.43-inch base, with LiTime slightly shorter and roughly 2.7 pounds lighter. Power Queen occupies a true Group 24 case. Redodo uses a longer Group 31 envelope, while Battle Born is a heavier Group 27/31 replacement with flag terminals.

Group labels do not finish an installation. Measure height with hardware, terminal-cover space, cable bends, hold-down geometry, fuse placement, disconnect access, and the path of any temperature sensor. A physically smaller battery can improve cable routing or create unsafe crowding depending on how the gained space is used.

Only LiTime provides Bluetooth inside the reviewed battery. Renogy identifies an optional 300A shunt for app monitoring; the other three also need external monitoring when accurate state of charge matters. A shunt can be better for a multi-battery bank, but its price, wiring, and setup belong in the value calculation.

IP65 appears across the set. That is not a synonym for waterproof or submersible. Marine and exterior compartments still need appropriate enclosure, terminal protection, restraint, and access for inspection.

Battery-level Bluetooth

Simpler for one hidden battery and useful for seeing that case’s protection state. LiTime is the only reviewed model with it built in.

Bank-level shunt

Better suited to measuring all charging and load current across a multi-battery bank, but it adds wiring, setup, and installed cost.

Bank Expansion Needs More Than a 4S4P Label

LiTime, Renogy, Power Queen, and Redodo publish 4S4P as the relevant maximum. Battle Born permits up to four in series and states no numerical parallel limit. Those are product boundaries, not bank designs. Fault current, balanced connections, branch protection, busbars, charger capacity, state of charge, and access become more demanding as battery count rises.

Renogy’s manual creates a specific tension by mentioning up to eight parallel units in one passage while showing 4P as the maximum configuration elsewhere. This roundup uses 4S4P until Renogy confirms a larger exact-model design. Selecting the larger statement because it is convenient would undermine the point of using primary sources.

Power Queen’s owner evidence adds a different warning. One buyer reports being told that two units sold under the same visible model but bought in separate orders were incompatible. That single report cannot prove every revision differs, but it is consequential enough to require written serial/revision confirmation before an older bank is expanded.

Matched capacity on the label is not sufficient. Batteries should meet the exact manufacturer’s requirements for model compatibility, age, state of charge, wiring, and pre-connection preparation. Staged expansion deserves planning before the first purchase.

Reading Owner Evidence Without Inventing a Failure Rate

The five research sets are not statistically interchangeable. LiTime has ten recent, almost wholly positive exact-variant reviews. Renogy has eight, including one serious failure and refund-delay report. Power Queen’s 17-review set was deliberately balanced across ratings to expose failure modes. Redodo’s 11 reviews span the Zooms-to-Redodo era and include several multi-year reports. Battle Born uses three manually retained detailed reports plus Amazon topic counts because the final Apify run hit the account limit.

This evidence can answer concrete questions: Did owners fit the battery into real compartments? Which applications appear? Was app visibility useful? Did anyone report cold-charge concerns, revision problems, a replacement, or a difficult remedy? It cannot establish the percentage of all units that fail, reach rated capacity, or receive a successful warranty outcome.

Longer history naturally accumulates more varied reports. Redodo should not be punished simply for having more years in which a complaint could appear, while LiTime should not be declared more reliable because its exact variant is newer and the captured sample positive. The ranking therefore separates product evidence from evidence confidence.

Size the Bank Before Choosing the Battery

Start with daily energy in watt-hours, required autonomy, allowed depth of discharge, total system efficiency, and a reserve.

Preliminary bank-energy calculation

required nominal Wh = daily Wh × autonomy days ÷ (usable DoD × system efficiency) × reserve factor

Worked example: 900Wh/day × 2 days ÷ (0.80 × 0.90) × 1.10 ≈ 2,750Wh nominal. That points to three 1,280Wh batteries before series voltage, parallel current, inverter demand, winter production, and manufacturer bank rules are checked.

Work from energy to hardware

  1. Estimate energy: total daily watt-hours and the required autonomy period.
  2. Add real limits: usable depth of discharge, conversion loss, temperature, and reserve.
  3. Check current: compare continuous and startup demand with the complete DC path.
  4. Select the bank: choose voltage, unit count, and an approved series/parallel arrangement.
  5. Verify charging: confirm current, voltage, cold behavior, and recovery time across every source.

The cluster’s battery-bank calculator can perform the preliminary arithmetic, but it does not choose conductors, fuses, busbars, disconnects, charger settings, thermal controls, or a legal installation. A qualified designer should review systems with high fault current, large inverters, propulsion loads, unusual environments, or unfamiliar code requirements.

Checks That Prevent an Expensive Mismatch

Confirm the exact model and feature version first. “Smart,” “heated,” “Mini,” “Classic,” and “Basic” are not decorative words; they can change monitoring and temperature behavior. Save the current manual and warranty for the exact ASIN or SKU instead of relying on a family page after purchase.

Next, compare the continuous DC load and surge duration with the battery and full current path. Verify every charging source’s combined maximum, target voltage, temperature behavior, and equalization settings. Measure the enclosure with terminals and cable bends, then obtain the exact torque value rather than borrowing it from a similar M8 bolt.

For banks, confirm series/parallel limits and revision compatibility in writing. Record arrival voltage, serials, charger settings, torque, and a known commissioning load. Those records do not turn installation into a laboratory test, but they make a shipping problem, BMS event, imbalance, or warranty conversation easier to diagnose.

Final checks before using the ranked cards

  • Confirm the exact feature version: Smart, heated, Mini, Classic, and Basic are not interchangeable labels.
  • Measure terminals, cable bends, hold-downs, protection, and service clearance.
  • Match surge amperage and duration to the load’s actual startup trace.
  • Choose who enforces low-temperature charging limits.
  • Get revision compatibility in writing before planning later bank expansion.
  • Save the current manual, warranty, serials, torque, and commissioning records.

The best 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 batteries are the ones whose constraints are ordinary for your system. LiTime is the most complete default package here. Renogy wins when its longer five-second surge and external-shunt architecture fit better; Battle Born earns a premium-support niche; Redodo supplies the deepest owner timeline; and Power Queen remains a conditional Group 24 value. The right choice is the one that removes a real system problem without creating a harder one elsewhere.

Best Overall

LiTime Xtra-Mini Smart Review: Compact Battery, Useful App

LiTime Xtra-Mini Smart Review: Compact Battery, Useful App

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • Group 22NF-sized case weighs 19.13 lb
  • Built-in Bluetooth 5.0 with LiTime app
  • Charging stops below 32°F and resumes at 41°F
  • 100A continuous discharge; 500A for one second

Best if

  • Compartment space and direct app status both matter
  • The system needs automatic cold-charge cutoff
  • A matched bank will remain within 4S4P

Skip if

  • You need integrated self-heating
  • A long exact-model ownership record is essential
  • Your startup load needs more than a one-second pulse

The LiTime Xtra-Mini Smart earns the overall position by combining the pilot's smallest and lightest case with built-in Bluetooth, 100A continuous charge/discharge, and explicit cold-charge cutoff. It is the easiest recommendation when space and everyday visibility matter together. The catch is evidence maturity: ten retained exact-variant reviews are recent and almost entirely positive, so this rank reflects documented fit and features rather than proven long-term reliability.

BrandLiTime
Exact model12.8V 100Ah Xtra-Mini Smart
Battery chemistryLiFePO4 (LFP)
Nominal voltage12.8V
Rated capacity100Ah
Rated energy1,280Wh
Recommended depth of dischargeUp to 100% DoD; 80% DoD is paired with the 6,000-cycle figure
Recommended charge current20A
Maximum continuous charge current100A
Maximum continuous discharge current100A
Peak discharge current500A for 1 second
Recommended charge voltage14.4V ± 0.2V (CC/CV)
Low-temperature charge protectionCharging stops below 32°F (0°C) and resumes at 41°F (5°C)
Self-heatingNo
Charge / discharge temperatureCharge: 32–122°F (0–50°C); discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C)
BMS protectionsOvervoltage, undervoltage, charge/discharge overcurrent, short circuit, overload, high temperature, and low temperature
MonitoringBuilt-in Bluetooth 5.0 with LiTime app
Series / parallel configurationUp to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P)
TerminalsM8 bolts; 12–14 N·m specified torque
Dimensions9.02 × 5.43 × 8.19 in (Group 22NF)
Weight19.13 lb (8.68 kg)
Ingress ratingIP65
Cycle-life specification4,000 cycles at 100% DoD; 6,000 at 80%; 15,000 at 60%
Warranty5 years
Best Five-Second Surge

Renogy Core Mini Review: Strong Manual, External Monitoring

Renogy Core Mini Review: Strong Manual, External Monitoring

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • 300A surge is documented for five seconds
  • Charge cutoff at 32°F; recovery at 37.4°F
  • Optional 300A shunt provides app monitoring
  • Exact manual publishes M8 hardware and torque

Best if

  • A five-second surge matters more than the largest pulse number
  • You prefer a bank-level external shunt
  • Exact documentation is a leading criterion

Skip if

  • Bluetooth must be inside the battery
  • You expect non-prorated five-year coverage
  • Your design depends on more than 4P without clarification

The Renogy Core Mini stands out when a startup load needs a documented 300A window lasting five seconds and the buyer values a detailed exact-model manual. Its compact IP65 case, 100A continuous limits, and cold-charge protection make it a strong mainstream alternative. Monitoring requires an external shunt, however, and the five-year warranty is prorated. The eight-review exact sample also contains one serious failure and delayed-refund report.

BrandRenogy
Exact modelRBT12100LFP-M
Battery chemistryLiFePO4 (LFP)
Nominal voltage12.8V
Rated capacity100Ah at 0.5C and 77°F (25°C)
Rated energy1,280Wh (calculated from 12.8V × 100Ah)
Recommended depth of dischargeUp to 100% DoD; cycle-life specification is measured at 80% DoD
Recommended charge current50A standard charge
Maximum continuous charge current100A
Maximum continuous discharge current100A
Peak discharge current300A for 5 seconds
Recommended charge voltage14.4V ± 0.2V (CC/CV)
Low-temperature charge protectionCharging stops at or below 32°F (0°C) and resumes at 37.4°F (3°C)
Self-heatingNo
Charge / discharge temperatureCharge: 32–122°F (0–50°C); discharge: -4–131°F (-20–55°C)
BMS protectionsCell overvoltage/undervoltage, charge/discharge overcurrent, short circuit, and charge/discharge temperature protection
MonitoringNo direct Bluetooth port; optional Renogy 300A Battery Shunt adds app monitoring
Series / parallel configurationUp to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P)
TerminalsM8 × 1.25 × 12 mm; 10–12 N·m specified torque
Dimensions9.02 × 5.43 × 8.39 in (229 × 138 × 213 mm)
Weight21.8 lb (9.9 kg)
Ingress ratingIP65
Cycle-life specification5,000 cycles at 80% DoD to 80% remaining capacity (0.5C, 77°F/25°C)
Warranty5-year prorated material-and-workmanship warranty
Best Premium Support Choice

Battle Born BB10012 Review: Premium Support or Overpriced?

Battle Born BB10012 Review: Premium Support or Overpriced?

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • 200A surge lasts a documented 30 seconds
  • Ten-year limited warranty
  • Flag terminals specify 9–11 ft-lb torque
  • Standard BB10012 has no heat or wireless monitoring

Best if

  • Support and certification documentation justify a premium
  • A long surge window matters
  • Your charging sources stay within 50A total

Skip if

  • Low weight or Bluetooth is a priority
  • You need integrated battery heat
  • The system requires 100A battery charging

Battle Born's standard BB10012 is the premium option for buyers who put support, published compliance references, flag-terminal detail, and a 200A-for-30-second surge above weight or app features. Its ten-year limited warranty is the longest in this group. That premium does not buy heating or Bluetooth, and the battery weighs 31 pounds. The current manual also conflicts internally on cold charging, so this article uses 32°F as the conservative boundary.

BrandBattle Born Batteries
Exact modelBB10012 (standard, non-heated, non-smart)
Battery chemistryLiFePO4 (LFP), cylindrical cells
Nominal voltage12V
Rated capacity100Ah
Rated energy1,200Wh (calculated from the published 12V × 100Ah ratings)
Recommended depth of dischargeUp to 100% usable depth of discharge
Recommended charge current50A (0.5C)
Maximum continuous charge current50A
Maximum continuous discharge current100A
Peak discharge current200A for 30 seconds; larger loads for no more than 0.5 second
Recommended charge voltage14.2–14.6V bulk/absorption; 13.4–13.8V float
Low-temperature charge protectionYes; BMS section identifies a 25°F (-3.9°C) cutoff while charging guidance starts at 32°F (0°C)
Self-heatingNo on BB10012; heating is limited to the separate BB10012H model
Charge / discharge temperatureSpecification table: charge 25–135°F (-3.9–57.2°C); discharge -4–135°F (-20–57.2°C)
BMS protectionsHigh/low voltage, charge/discharge overcurrent, short circuit, high/low temperature, and top-of-charge cell balancing
MonitoringNone on the standard BB10012; wireless monitoring is limited to separate smart models
Series / parallel configurationUp to 4 in series (48V); manufacturer states no limit in parallel
Terminals0.25-inch brass flag terminals with 3/8-inch holes; 3/8- or 5/16-inch hardware; 9–11 ft-lb torque
Dimensions12.76 × 6.86 × 8.95 in (Group 27 / Group 31 replacement)
Weight31 lb (14.06 kg)
Ingress ratingIP65; sealed and water-resistant, not submersible
Cycle-life specification3,000–5,000 deep-discharge cycles; detailed test condition not published
Warranty10-year limited warranty
Best Owner-History Depth

Redodo 12V 100Ah Review: Long History, Basic BMS

Redodo 12V 100Ah Review: Long History, Basic BMS

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • Exact-ASIN reports span 2021–2026
  • Group 31 case weighs 22.05 lb
  • 100A continuous charge and discharge
  • No automatic cold-charge cutoff on the Basic model

Best if

  • A conventional Group 31 compartment is available
  • Longer owner history matters more than app features
  • External cold-charge prevention is already designed

Skip if

  • You need compact Mini dimensions
  • Automatic cold protection is required
  • A disputed manual/web surge value affects your load

The Redodo 12V 100Ah Basic brings the longest exact-ASIN owner timeline in the pilot, including several reports around three to four years and five real installation photos. It is a straightforward Group 31 option with 1,280Wh and 100A continuous current. The tradeoff is a basic BMS feature set: no cold-charge cutoff, heater, or Bluetooth. Zooms-era reports add history but cannot prove today's internals are unchanged.

BrandRedodo
Exact model12V 100Ah Basic
Battery chemistryLiFePO4 (LFP), prismatic cells
Nominal voltage12.8V
Rated capacity100Ah
Rated energy1,280Wh
Recommended depth of discharge100% DoD is used in the documented cycle-life condition
Recommended charge current20A (0.2C)
Maximum continuous charge current100A
Maximum continuous discharge current100A
Peak discharge current400A for 1 second (exact manual)
Recommended charge voltage14.4V ± 0.2V (CC/CV; exact manual)
Low-temperature charge protectionNo
Self-heatingNo
Charge / discharge temperatureCharge: 32–122°F (0–50°C); discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C)
BMS protectionsOvercharge, over-discharge, charge/discharge overcurrent, short circuit, and high-temperature protection
MonitoringNone on the Basic model
Series / parallel configurationUp to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P)
TerminalsM8; torque not specified by manufacturer
Dimensions13 × 6.77 × 8.43 in (Group 31)
Weight22.05 lb (10.0 kg)
Ingress ratingIP65
Cycle-life specification4,000 cycles at 100% DoD, 0.2C, and 77°F (25°C)
Warranty5 years
Best Group 24 Value

Power Queen Group 24 Review: Good Fit, Hard Questions

Power Queen Group 24 Review: Good Fit, Hard Questions

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • 10.24 × 6.61-inch Group 24 footprint
  • 1,280Wh at 22.16 lb
  • 100A continuous charge and discharge
  • Classic model has no cutoff, heat, or Bluetooth

Best if

  • One Group 24 battery fills a bounded warm-location role
  • Price and standard battery-box fit lead
  • External monitoring and temperature control are available

Skip if

  • You plan to expand an older bank without revision confirmation
  • Charging can occur below freezing
  • Your startup design depends on the disputed peak specification

The Power Queen Group 24 Classic offers the exact case format many replacement projects need, plus 1,280Wh and 100A continuous current at a value-oriented position. It ranks fifth because this is the most conditional recommendation: there is no cold-charge cutoff, the surge documents conflict, and one owner reports same-name units from different orders were considered incompatible. It fits a bounded warm-location job better than blind bank expansion.

BrandPower Queen
Exact model12V 100Ah Group 24 Classic
Battery chemistryLiFePO4 (LFP)
Nominal voltage12.8V
Rated capacity100Ah
Rated energy1,280Wh
Recommended depth of dischargeUp to 100% DoD; 80% DoD is paired with the 6,000-cycle figure
Recommended charge current20A (0.2C)
Maximum continuous charge current100A
Maximum continuous discharge current100A
Peak discharge current400A for 0.1 second (exact manual)
Recommended charge voltage14.4V ± 0.2V (CC/CV)
Low-temperature charge protectionNo
Self-heatingNo
Charge / discharge temperatureCharge: 32–122°F (0–50°C); discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C)
BMS protectionsOvercharge, over-discharge, charge/discharge overcurrent, short circuit, and high-temperature protection
MonitoringNone on the Classic model
Series / parallel configurationUp to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P)
TerminalsM8 × 16 mm; torque not specified by manufacturer
Dimensions10.24 × 6.61 × 8.27 in (Group 24)
Weight22.16 lb (10.05 kg)
Ingress ratingIP65
Cycle-life specification4,000 cycles at 100% DoD; 6,000 at 80%; 15,000 at 60%
Warranty5 years

Product Comparison

Feature LiTime Xtra-Mini Smart Review: Compact Battery, Useful App Renogy Core Mini Review: Strong Manual, External Monitoring Battle Born BB10012 Review: Premium Support or Overpriced? Redodo 12V 100Ah Review: Long History, Basic BMS Power Queen Group 24 Review: Good Fit, Hard Questions
Product Image
LiTime Xtra-Mini Smart Review: Compact Battery, Useful App
Renogy Core Mini Review: Strong Manual, External Monitoring
Battle Born BB10012 Review: Premium Support or Overpriced?
Redodo 12V 100Ah Review: Long History, Basic BMS
Power Queen Group 24 Review: Good Fit, Hard Questions
Price $375.99 $307.99 $239.99 $949 $799 $269.88 $269.99
Rating
4.6 / 5
4.7 / 5
4.4 / 5
4.5 / 5
4.6 / 5
Category Solar Batteries Solar Batteries Solar Batteries Solar Batteries Solar Batteries
Brand LiTime Renogy Battle Born Batteries Redodo Power Queen
Exact model 12.8V 100Ah Xtra-Mini Smart RBT12100LFP-M BB10012 (standard, non-heated, non-smart) 12V 100Ah Basic 12V 100Ah Group 24 Classic
Battery chemistry LiFePO4 (LFP) LiFePO4 (LFP) LiFePO4 (LFP), cylindrical cells LiFePO4 (LFP), prismatic cells LiFePO4 (LFP)
Nominal voltage 12.8V 12.8V 12V 12.8V 12.8V
Rated capacity 100Ah 100Ah at 0.5C and 77°F (25°C) 100Ah 100Ah 100Ah
Rated energy 1,280Wh 1,280Wh (calculated from 12.8V × 100Ah) 1,200Wh (calculated from the published 12V × 100Ah ratings) 1,280Wh 1,280Wh
Recommended depth of discharge Up to 100% DoD; 80% DoD is paired with the 6,000-cycle figure Up to 100% DoD; cycle-life specification is measured at 80% DoD Up to 100% usable depth of discharge 100% DoD is used in the documented cycle-life condition Up to 100% DoD; 80% DoD is paired with the 6,000-cycle figure
Recommended charge current 20A 50A standard charge 50A (0.5C) 20A (0.2C) 20A (0.2C)
Maximum continuous charge current 100A 100A 50A 100A 100A
Maximum continuous discharge current 100A 100A 100A 100A 100A
Peak discharge current 500A for 1 second 300A for 5 seconds 200A for 30 seconds; larger loads for no more than 0.5 second 400A for 1 second (exact manual) 400A for 0.1 second (exact manual)
Recommended charge voltage 14.4V ± 0.2V (CC/CV) 14.4V ± 0.2V (CC/CV) 14.2–14.6V bulk/absorption; 13.4–13.8V float 14.4V ± 0.2V (CC/CV; exact manual) 14.4V ± 0.2V (CC/CV)
Low-temperature charge protection Charging stops below 32°F (0°C) and resumes at 41°F (5°C) Charging stops at or below 32°F (0°C) and resumes at 37.4°F (3°C) Yes; BMS section identifies a 25°F (-3.9°C) cutoff while charging guidance starts at 32°F (0°C) No No
Self-heating No No No on BB10012; heating is limited to the separate BB10012H model No No
Charge / discharge temperature Charge: 32–122°F (0–50°C); discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C) Charge: 32–122°F (0–50°C); discharge: -4–131°F (-20–55°C) Specification table: charge 25–135°F (-3.9–57.2°C); discharge -4–135°F (-20–57.2°C) Charge: 32–122°F (0–50°C); discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C) Charge: 32–122°F (0–50°C); discharge: -4–140°F (-20–60°C)
BMS protections Overvoltage, undervoltage, charge/discharge overcurrent, short circuit, overload, high temperature, and low temperature Cell overvoltage/undervoltage, charge/discharge overcurrent, short circuit, and charge/discharge temperature protection High/low voltage, charge/discharge overcurrent, short circuit, high/low temperature, and top-of-charge cell balancing Overcharge, over-discharge, charge/discharge overcurrent, short circuit, and high-temperature protection Overcharge, over-discharge, charge/discharge overcurrent, short circuit, and high-temperature protection
Monitoring Built-in Bluetooth 5.0 with LiTime app No direct Bluetooth port; optional Renogy 300A Battery Shunt adds app monitoring None on the standard BB10012; wireless monitoring is limited to separate smart models None on the Basic model None on the Classic model
Series / parallel configuration Up to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P) Up to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P) Up to 4 in series (48V); manufacturer states no limit in parallel Up to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P) Up to 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P)
Terminals M8 bolts; 12–14 N·m specified torque M8 × 1.25 × 12 mm; 10–12 N·m specified torque 0.25-inch brass flag terminals with 3/8-inch holes; 3/8- or 5/16-inch hardware; 9–11 ft-lb torque M8; torque not specified by manufacturer M8 × 16 mm; torque not specified by manufacturer
Dimensions 9.02 × 5.43 × 8.19 in (Group 22NF) 9.02 × 5.43 × 8.39 in (229 × 138 × 213 mm) 12.76 × 6.86 × 8.95 in (Group 27 / Group 31 replacement) 13 × 6.77 × 8.43 in (Group 31) 10.24 × 6.61 × 8.27 in (Group 24)
Weight 19.13 lb (8.68 kg) 21.8 lb (9.9 kg) 31 lb (14.06 kg) 22.05 lb (10.0 kg) 22.16 lb (10.05 kg)
Ingress rating IP65 IP65 IP65; sealed and water-resistant, not submersible IP65 IP65
Cycle-life specification 4,000 cycles at 100% DoD; 6,000 at 80%; 15,000 at 60% 5,000 cycles at 80% DoD to 80% remaining capacity (0.5C, 77°F/25°C) 3,000–5,000 deep-discharge cycles; detailed test condition not published 4,000 cycles at 100% DoD, 0.2C, and 77°F (25°C) 4,000 cycles at 100% DoD; 6,000 at 80%; 15,000 at 60%
Warranty 5 years 5-year prorated material-and-workmanship warranty 10-year limited warranty 5 years 5 years
Buy Now View Deal View Deal View Deal View Deal View Deal

Five 100Ah Batteries, Five Different Reasons to Buy

Best overall: The LiTime Xtra-Mini Smart offers the most complete default package: compact size, low weight, built-in Bluetooth, 100A continuous current, and automatic cold-charge cutoff.

Choose another pick when: Renogy's 300A-for-five-second surge and external-shunt architecture fit better; Battle Born's 30-second surge, documentation, certifications, and support justify a premium; Redodo's longer owner history matters; or Power Queen's exact Group 24 format solves a bounded warm-location replacement.

Check before buying: Match continuous DC current and surge duration, add all charging sources, confirm exact cold behavior, measure terminal clearance, and verify series/parallel plus revision compatibility. The local calculator estimates bank count, but it cannot design cables, fuses, busbars, thermal control, or a compliant installation.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery overall?

LiTime's Xtra-Mini Smart is the default winner in this five-product set because it combines the smallest, lightest case with built-in Bluetooth, 100A continuous current, and documented cold-charge cutoff. That ranking changes when a longer surge, premium support, Group 31 history, or Group 24 fit is more important.

Can a 100Ah lithium battery run a 1,000W inverter?

Often, but not from amp-hours alone. A 1,000W AC load can require roughly 85–100A DC after inverter loss and low-voltage operation, before surge. Verify the exact battery's continuous and timed surge limits plus inverter efficiency, cables, fuses, disconnects, terminals, voltage sag, and temperature.

How many watt-hours are in a 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery?

A 12.8V 100Ah nameplate equals 1,280Wh by multiplication; a product published at 12V and 100Ah equals 1,200Wh. These are nominal calculations, not measured usable energy. Actual delivered energy depends on load rate, cutoff, temperature, state of charge, losses, and battery condition.

Do all LiFePO4 batteries stop charging below freezing?

No. Some exact models include BMS low-temperature charge cutoff, while others only publish a permitted temperature range and rely on the installation to enforce it. Self-heating is another separate feature. Check the exact model rather than assuming a generic LiFePO4 label includes cold protection.

Is a one-second peak-current rating enough for an inverter?

Only when the inverter's startup demand fits both the current and duration. A 500A one-second pulse, 300A five-second pulse, and 200A 30-second surge solve different problems. The continuous BMS limit and the complete current path remain the primary design boundaries.

Should I choose built-in Bluetooth or an external shunt?

Built-in Bluetooth is convenient for checking one hidden battery without extra hardware. A correctly installed shunt can observe an entire bank and all current entering or leaving it. Compare total cost, wiring, calibration, number of batteries, and whether every charge/load path can pass through the shunt.

Can I add a new 100Ah battery to an older bank?

Do not assume so. Match exact model, revision, capacity, age, state of charge, and manufacturer requirements. One Power Queen owner reported same-name units from different orders were considered incompatible. Get written confirmation using serial/revision details before connecting a later purchase.

Is IP65 waterproof enough for a boat?

IP65 means dust-tight and resistant to water jets under the rating conditions; it does not mean submersible. A marine installation still needs a suitable dry enclosure, restrained battery, insulated terminals, corrosion control, protected conductors, ventilation considerations, and compliance with the equipment manuals and applicable requirements.

How did Solar Power Picks rank these batteries?

The ranking combines exact-model manuals and product pages, normalized specifications, exact-ASIN owner evidence, real customer-photo checks, and system-fit analysis. Solar Power Picks did not physically capacity-test these units, and Amazon star averages were not copied into the editorial scores.

×

About Solar Power Picks

Portable Solar Power, Backup Power, and Off-Grid Gear Guides

Your trusted source for honest, in-depth product reviews and comparisons.

Quick Links

  • Best Picks
  • Reviews
  • Guides
  • Comparisons
  • Calculator
  • Privacy policy
  • Favorites

Categories

  • Portable Power Stations
  • Solar Batteries
  • Solar Charge Controllers
  • Solar Generators
  • Solar Panels

© 2026 Solar Power Picks. All Rights Reserved.

We may earn a commission when you purchase through links on our site. Learn more