Solar Power Picks logo with sun, solar panel, and green energy icon

  • Home
  • Reviews
  • Best
    • Best portable power stations
    • Best Solar Panels
    • Best Solar Generators
    • Best Solar Charge Controllers
    • Best Solar Batteries
  • Guides
    • Portable Power Stations Guides
    • Solar Panels Guides
    • Solar Generators Guides
    • Solar Charge Controllers Guides
    • Solar Batteries Guides
  • Comparisons
    • Portable Power Stations Comparisons
    • Solar Panels Comparisons
    • Solar Generators Comparisons
    • Solar Charge Controllers Comparisons
    • Solar Batteries Comparisons
  • Calculator

Jackery vs EcoFlow Power Station: Best Brand for Camping, RVs, and Backup

COMPARED PRODUCTS

Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Review: Fast-Charging Backup Power That Travels Well

Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Review: Fast-Charging Backup Power That Travels Well

Check price at Amazon Jump to details
EcoFlow River 3 Plus review: Quiet UPS-style power for routers, CPAP, camping, and short outages

EcoFlow River 3 Plus review: Quiet UPS-style power for routers, CPAP, camping, and short outages

Check price at Amazon Jump to details
EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max Review: Runtime, Charging and Backup Limits

EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max Review: Runtime, Charging and Backup Limits

Check price at Amazon Jump to details

Jackery vs EcoFlow is a model-and-capacity decision, not a universal brand ranking. The Explorer 1000 v2 is the portable 1kWh option in this comparison. EcoFlow’s RIVER 3 Plus serves much smaller loads, while DELTA 2 Max starts with roughly twice the Jackery’s energy and offers expansion. These three selected products are not direct substitutes.

Which Size of System Are You Actually Comparing?

Selected model Base capacity / continuous AC output Purchase decision
EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus 286Wh / 600W A compact electronics station when runtime needs are modest.
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 1,070Wh / 1,500W A carryable, self-contained system when the load budget fits without future expansion.
EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max 2,048Wh / 2,400W A heavier backup platform when more energy and expansion justify the handling and cost.

Start with your required power-station capacity. If the answer is about 1kWh, compare Explorer 1000 v2 with an EcoFlow model in that class before choosing a brand. Neither the smaller RIVER nor the larger DELTA here is a like-for-like 1kWh rival.

The Jackery Advantage Here Is the Carryable Middle Size

Explorer 1000 v2 weighs about 23.8 lb, between RIVER 3 Plus at 10.4 lb and DELTA 2 Max at 50.7 lb. That makes the Jackery worth considering when you need more energy than the small RIVER but will repeatedly lift the station into a vehicle or move it between rooms.

Frequent carryingCheck the whole route: stairs, vehicle loading, storage space, and the panel carried separately. Weight is not a universal one-person lifting limit.
Mostly stationary backupExtra capacity may matter more than a lighter enclosure. Plan a safe location and a way to move the larger DELTA when service or storage requires it.

The Explorer’s lack of a dedicated expansion path is a meaningful limit. It is a good fit only if the base station remains sufficient; buying it with an already-known need for much longer runtime creates a second purchase problem.

Higher Output Does Not Buy Longer Runtime

RIVER 3 Plus can supply more instantaneous power than its small battery can sustain for long. DELTA 2 Max has both more energy and a higher continuous output rating, but neither figure establishes compatibility with every appliance. Account for simultaneous loads and motor starts separately.

A useful distinction: watts determine whether the inverter can support a load; watt-hours help estimate how long it can run. Use the power-station size calculator to estimate energy with losses and reserve, then check output limits against the exact appliance.

Do not treat EcoFlow’s X-Boost mode as ordinary surge capacity or a higher continuous inverter rating. Check the supported load types before enabling it. The watts versus watt-hours guide explains why a short high-power task and an all-night small load require different planning.

Solar Input and Expansion Favor Different EcoFlow Models

RIVER 3 PlusUp to 220W solar input and 858Wh total with the supported expansion option. More runtime does not raise its 600W inverter ceiling.
Explorer 1000 v2Up to 400W solar input. Choose it around the capacity you are buying now, not an assumed extra-battery upgrade.
DELTA 2 MaxUp to 1,000W across dual solar inputs and 6,144Wh total with compatible extra batteries. Include panels, batteries, and cables in the system cost.

The higher solar ceiling is useful only when a compatible array and the available sun can use it. Panel voltage, current, connectors, shade, and concurrent loads matter. For a small panel plan, the 100W daily-energy examples show why a large battery can take several days to recover.

All three support AC recharging, but compare the same starting charge, target charge, and mode before treating advertised times as a head-to-head result. Fast mode also needs a suitable supply circuit. A car socket is a different, generally slower recovery route, not a replacement for a full daily energy plan.

Ports and Backup Behavior Need a Model-Level Check

A brand label does not tell you whether the required sockets, controls, or automatic restoration behavior are present. Count the devices that must operate together, check their approved power paths, and leave room for plugs that block adjacent outlets.

  • For network backup: check transfer tolerance, standby consumption, and whether the intended outputs return after depletion or a power interruption.
  • For an RV: verify the actual outlet and distribution arrangement. The selected Explorer 1000 v2 is not a different Jackery model with a TT-30 outlet.
  • For a growing system: verify the exact expansion batteries and cables before giving future capacity any value in the comparison.

A published transfer time is not a guarantee that every device will stay running. Use the UPS and EPS compatibility checks before relying on automatic backup. Medical equipment also requires its manufacturer’s approved power arrangement.

Compare the Cost of the Same Job, Not the Cheapest Box

Price the station together with the panels, cables, and expansion batteries your plan actually needs. A smaller RIVER is not automatically better value than the Jackery if it cannot cover the required hours; a larger DELTA is not automatically better value if its weight prevents you from using it.

All three selected models use LFP batteries, but cycle claims, warranty conditions, and owner experiences are not interchangeable reliability measures. Customer accounts can identify useful checks; they do not establish a controlled brand-versus-brand failure rate.

For a small EcoFlow purchase, the RIVER 3 versus RIVER 3 Plus comparison addresses whether the Plus features justify the upgrade. For this broader choice, eliminate the wrong capacity class first, then weigh portability against the expansion and recovery you will really use.

Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Review: Fast-Charging Backup Power That Travels Well

Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Review: Fast-Charging Backup Power That Travels Well

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • 1,070Wh LiFePO4 battery with 1,500W pure-sine output for camp appliances
  • 3,000W surge helps with fridge compressors and short startup loads
  • Fast AC recharge: about 1.7 hours standard, 1 hour in fast mode
  • 23.8 lb body with folding handle — easy for car camping
  • 400W solar ceiling works, but Jackery panel compatibility matters

Best if

  • You’re building a car-camping setup around a fridge, CPAP, lights, and laptops
  • You value a lighter 1kWh LiFePO4 unit that one person can move
  • You’re okay using Jackery-compatible solar panels or adapters

Skip if

  • You need multi-day backup without adding a second power station
  • You’d rather have a wheeled 3kWh station for home-only use
  • You already own MC4 panels and want a more open solar setup

 

The Jackery Explorer 1000 V2 is the best Jackery pick here for camping, CPAP backup, Starlink, short outages, and car-based travel. It gives you 1070Wh, a 1500W pure-sine inverter, and a 23.8 lb body, which is a strong balance for a 1kWh-class LiFePO4 station. The main tradeoff is fixed capacity. Unlike EcoFlow’s expandable models, this Jackery doesn’t give you a simple add-on battery path.

Capacity1,070Wh (no dedicated expansion battery system)
AC Output1,500W continuous, 3,000W surge (pure sine)
Solar Input400W max via Jackery-compatible solar input
AC Charging~1.7h full / ~1h fast-charge mode, up to ~1,200W
Weight23.8 lb (10.8 kg)
Best EdgeLightest full-size camping unit in this matchup
Main TradeoffFixed 1kWh capacity — no expansion battery path

EcoFlow River 3 Plus review: Quiet UPS-style power for routers, CPAP, camping, and short outages

EcoFlow River 3 Plus review: Quiet UPS-style power for routers, CPAP, camping, and short outages

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • 286Wh LiFePO4 battery suits routers, CPAP, laptops, and lights
  • 600W AC output covers small electronics and some brief appliance loads
  • Under-10ms UPS-style switchover helps protect networking gear
  • Charges from AC in about 1 hour before storms or trips
  • 10.4 lb body is the easiest carry in this comparison

Best if

  • You’re backing up a router, modem, NAS, camera, or home-office setup
  • You like quiet bedside or desk-side power with UPS-style behavior
  • You want a compact unit that can expand later with EB batteries

Skip if

  • You need long full-size fridge runtime during overnight outages
  • You can’t tolerate app login, firmware, or pairing quirks
  • You’d rather buy one larger battery instead of adding modules

 

The EcoFlow River 3 Plus is not trying to compete with big backup stations. Instead, it’s the small EcoFlow pick for routers, modems, cameras, CPAP use, laptops, lights, and short outages. Its 286Wh battery is limited, but the under-10ms UPS-style switchover and fast one-hour AC recharge make it practical for home-office electronics. The main tradeoff is obvious: it’s not built for full-size fridge backup or high-draw appliances.

Capacity286Wh (expandable up to 858Wh with EB300 / EB600 batteries)
AC Output600W continuous, 1,200W X-Boost (waveform not specified)
Solar Input220W max via EcoFlow solar input (connector not specified in source data)
AC Charging~1h full, up to ~350W
Weight10.4 lb (4.7 kg)
Best EdgeOnly compact model here with sub-10ms UPS-style switchover
Main TradeoffSmallest battery — shortest runtime for fridges and fans

EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max Review: Runtime, Charging and Backup Limits

EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max Review: Runtime, Charging and Backup Limits

Get it now:

Check latest price

What to know

  • 2,048Wh LiFePO4 capacity works well for fridges, CPAP, and RV basics
  • 2,400W AC output handles many appliances and small power tools
  • 1,000W solar input via dual inputs supports stronger off-grid recovery
  • Expandable to 6,144Wh with two extra batteries
  • Fast AC charging reaches full in about 1–1.5 hours

Best if

  • You’re running fridge backup, CPAP, Wi-Fi, fans, and mixed household loads
  • You plan to use larger solar arrays for RV or blackout recovery
  • You value expandable capacity for longer outage planning

Skip if

  • You want the lightest possible unit for frequent solo carrying
  • You need a simple no-app backup setup with fewer firmware concerns
  • You’d rather avoid the cost and cable complexity of extra batteries

 

The EcoFlow Delta 2 Max is the strongest EcoFlow all-rounder in this matchup. Its 2048Wh LiFePO4 battery, 2400W AC output, six AC outlets, 1000W solar ceiling, and expansion support make it a better fit for home backup, RV trips, fridge duty, and solar-heavy use than the smaller River model. The tradeoff is weight and complexity. At 50.7 lb, it’s more of a setup-and-use station than a casual carry.

Capacity2,048Wh (expandable up to 6,144Wh)
AC Output2,400W continuous, 4,800W surge / 3,400W X-Boost (pure sine not specified)
Solar Input1,000W max via dual XT60i / MC4 adapter setup
AC Charging~1–1.5h full, up to 1,800W
Weight50.7 lb (23 kg)
Best EdgeLargest solar ceiling and only expandable high-capacity system here
Main TradeoffMore app-dependent than Jackery for backup-critical settings

Product Comparison

Feature Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Review: Fast-Charging Backup Power That Travels Well EcoFlow River 3 Plus review: Quiet UPS-style power for routers, CPAP, camping, and short outages EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max Review: Runtime, Charging and Backup Limits
Product Image
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Review: Fast-Charging Backup Power That Travels Well
EcoFlow River 3 Plus review: Quiet UPS-style power for routers, CPAP, camping, and short outages
EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max Review: Runtime, Charging and Backup Limits
Price $799.99 $428.99 $299.99 $279.99 $1399.99 $899
Rating
4.7 / 5
4.6 / 5
4.3 / 5
Category Portable Power Stations Portable Power Stations Portable Power Stations
Brand Jackery EF ECOFLOW EF ECOFLOW
Model / SKU JE-1000D (ASIN: B0D7PPG25F) RIVER 3 Plus / EF-RV-H02-1 (ASIN: B0DCCB657J) DELTA2 Max / EFD350 (ASIN: B0C4DW17PD)
Battery capacity 1070 Wh 286 Wh 2048 Wh
Battery chemistry LiFePO4 (LFP) LiFePO4 (LFP) LiFePO4 (LFP)
Cycle-life rating 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity 3,000 cycles to 80% capacity 3000 cycles to 80% capacity
Expandable capacity No (no dedicated expansion battery system specified) Yes — supports EB300 or EB600 extra batteries, up to 858Wh total Yes — supports up to 2 expansion batteries (up to 6144 Wh total)
Continuous AC output 1500 W continuous (pure sine wave) 600 W continuous 2400 W continuous
Surge / peak output 3000 W peak 1200 W with X-Boost 4800 W starting wattage (3400 W via X-Boost for some high-wattage appliances)
AC voltage, frequency, and waveform 120V AC, pure sine wave; frequency not published for this exact model 110V AC, waveform not published; frequency not published for this exact model US: 120V, 50/60Hz, pure sine wave
AC outlets 3 × 120V AC outlets 3 × 110V AC outlets (UPS-supported) 6 × 120V AC outlets
High-current, RV, or 240V output No dedicated RV, 30A, 240V, or other high-current AC outlet published for this exact model No dedicated RV, 30A, 240V, or other high-current AC outlet published for this exact model No dedicated RV, 30A, 240V, or other high-current AC outlet published for this exact model
USB-C outputs 2 × USB-C (up to 100W PD specified) 1 × USB-C 2 × USB-C, up to 100W each
USB-A outputs 1 × USB-A 2 × USB-A 2 × 12W USB-A and 2 × 18W fast-charge USB-A
12V / DC outputs 1 × 12V car port 1 × 12V car port Car outlet: 12.6V / 10A / 126W; 2 × DC5521: 12.6V / 3A / 38W each; all DC outlets share 126W total
Maximum solar input 400 W (MPPT, Jackery solar panel compatibility noted) 220 W 1000 W (dual 500 W inputs; XT60i / MC4 adapter setup may be needed)
Solar input range and connector Not published for this exact model in the current source set; exact PV voltage/current window and connector are unavailable Not published for this exact model in the current source set; exact PV voltage/current window and connector are unavailable Two XT60/XT60i charging connections; each input 11–60V, 15A, 500W. Use the approved panel cable and array.
Maximum AC input ~1200 W (emergency fast-charge mode) Not published for this exact model in the current source set; the prior value was an editorial estimate, not an exact-model rating 1800 W (fast AC charging, adjustable in app)
AC recharge time 1 hour (fast) / 1.7 hours (default) About 1 hour Depends on starting charge, selected input rate, battery temperature and taper; US maximum AC charging input is 1,800W
Solar recharge estimate Planning estimate: ~3-4 hours with 400W panels in strong sun (estimated from capacity and input limit) As little as 1.5 hours with up to 220W solar input No fixed field time established; daily input depends on approved array, weather, orientation, receiver taper and concurrent loads
UPS / EPS support and transfer time Not published for this exact model in the current source set Yes — under 10 ms switchover Current web manual: EPS within 20ms; earlier regional manual: 30ms. Verify documentation for delivered unit/firmware. US bypass: 15A maximum; above 12A for less than three hours.
App / connectivity Yes — Jackery App (Wi-Fi + Bluetooth) Yes — EcoFlow app via Bluetooth and Wi-Fi Yes — EcoFlow app (Wi-Fi / Bluetooth control and monitoring)
Operating temperature / weather rating Not published for this exact model in the current source set Not published for this exact model in the current source set Charge: 0–45°C; discharge: -10–45°C. Keep dry and ventilated; not a weatherproof outdoor installation.
Dimensions 12.87 × 8.82 × 9.72 in Approximately 9.2 × 9.1 × 5.8 in 497 × 242 × 305mm
Weight 23.8 lb (10.8 kg) 10.4 lb 23 kg / about 50.7 lb
Warranty Not published for this exact model in the current source set 5-year manufacturer warranty 5-year manufacturer warranty
Buy Now View Deal View Deal View Deal

The Right Size Comes Before the Brand

Explorer 1000 v2 is the middle-size choice here: enough base energy for a bounded 1kWh plan without the weight of DELTA 2 Max. Its limit is the lack of a dedicated expansion path.

RIVER 3 Plus belongs on the shortlist for smaller loads; DELTA 2 Max belongs there when larger storage, solar input, and expansion are worth the extra handling. Neither is a direct capacity match for the Jackery. If your requirement sits between these sizes, compare a same-class alternative rather than forcing a brand winner.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is RIVER 3 Plus a direct alternative to Explorer 1000 v2?

No. RIVER 3 Plus has 286Wh versus 1,070Wh for Explorer 1000 v2. It serves a smaller electronics-focused mission.

Is DELTA 2 Max a direct alternative to Explorer 1000 v2?

Not for portability or price. DELTA 2 Max has 2,048Wh and weighs about 50.7 pounds, so it belongs to a larger expandable-backup tier.

Which selected model is easiest to carry?

RIVER 3 Plus is lightest at 10.4 pounds, but it stores far less energy. Among the larger units, Explorer 1000 v2 is 23.8 pounds.

Which selected model has the most solar input?

DELTA 2 Max specifies up to 1,000W across dual inputs. Explorer 1000 v2 specifies 400W and RIVER 3 Plus specifies 220W.

Which selected product can expand the most?

DELTA 2 Max supports up to 6,144Wh total in the retained record. RIVER 3 Plus reaches 858Wh; Explorer 1000 v2 has no dedicated expansion system specified.

Which brand is simpler to use?

Simplicity is model and mission dependent. Test local controls, app requirements, charging, timeout, reserve, and restoration rather than assigning one permanent brand label.

×

About Solar Power Picks

Portable Solar Power, Backup Power, and Off-Grid Gear Guides

Your trusted source for honest, in-depth product reviews and comparisons.

Quick Links

  • Best Picks
  • Reviews
  • Guides
  • Comparisons
  • Calculator
  • Privacy policy
  • Favorites

Categories

  • Portable Power Stations
  • Solar Batteries
  • Solar Battery Maintainers
  • Solar Charge Controllers
  • Solar Generators
  • Solar Panels

© 2026 Solar Power Picks. All Rights Reserved.

We may earn a commission when you purchase through links on our site. Learn more